Return to Mac and iMac Buying Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pMad, Apr 28, 2008.

1. pMad macrumors regular

Please help.

I'm pretty new at this.

The last Macs I owned were an LC and a Duo210 during college. :eek:
    I kicked ass at CrystalQwest ;)

I am now coming back and buying an iMac. (I'll purchase within next 30 days.)

I knew enough to wait for the update and now I want to buy. I just have a few questions.

I plan on getting the 3.06GHz.
    I will use it mostly for internet, graphics rendering (photoshop etc), iTunes, Editing home movies, etc.

BTW, I get an education discount.

1. RAM - I assume I'll want to go to the 4GB?
    Apple seems to be more reasonable now with it's RAM. A brief check on 3rd party RAM leaves me guessing the 4GB upgrade (when available) will run $125-$135. Apple has it for $180.

Should I save the hastle and just have 4GB installed by Apple or go with a 3rd party (which one?)?

2. HARD DRIVE - I've always purchased the largest drive available and then purchased an equal sized external to back up to. Then once every 4-5 months, I burn photos and movies to disc.

So, should I upgrade to the 1TB drive ($225) and get a 1TB drive external.
    or should I just get the 500GB and one or two externals for additional space and backup storage?

What is a good brand for externals? I have a Western Digital currently connected to my Dell (it's only 250GB). Do I stick with Western Digital or someone else?

3. AppleCare ($119) - I'm assuming I buy that?

4. WIRELESS ROUTER - I currently have a Linksys WRT54G. Is that fine, or should I upgrade the router? Upgrade Suggestions? (BTW, using Carter cable internet).

Anything else I need to know?

Thanks.

2. Morod macrumors 68000

Morod