Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gv23

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 25, 2012
I've been working in cybersecurity for 21 years and a pro Mac user since 2003 (17" Powerbook - PowerPC G4).

Current machine is 32GB 13-inch, 2020, Four Thunderbolt 3 ports with 2TB disk and 2.3GHz Quad core i7 - it's a maxed out 13".

I read all the reviews on the new MacBook Pro M1 and have been hesitating since it's release. 2 weeks ago after WWDC read that the next MacBook Pros will likely be released in Q3/Q3 2021.

Unlike all previous Macs I've bought, I waited for the 2nd iteration of a new generation of the product, thought to try out the M1 with 16GB ram and 2TB disk for work.

My experience in the 2 weeks:
- It doesn't feel right - It's a Pro with the same chip as my 2021 iPad 11" and MacBook Air. It just doesn't feel like a pro device and different to the others in the product line.
- The performance is OK - but there's still delays and drag when you push the laptop and when using a 2nd screen.
- Was disappointed that you can only connect 1 external monitor (have 2 4k LGs) and have the Apple XDR arriving next week. I work with 2 external monitors and the laptop screen.
- fans were not used as much (only time was when photos was doing some machine learning to sort out the albums, faces, objects etc)
- read all the reviews of photo/video encoding improvements etc - I don't use the Mac for that in security.
- Only has 2 thunderbolt/usbc ports - I use the external monitor (only 1 now), usbc security keys (ubikey) and other inputs - now can't with only 2 ports. I need 4.
- 16GB ram is not enough for pro users, I was already hitting limits when you've been working with 32GB in my field.