Returning i7 395X for a I7 395 or(vs) i5 390

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mattoligy, Nov 8, 2015.

1. mattoligy, Nov 8, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2015

mattoligy macrumors 6502

mattoligy

Long story short I have a top spec being collected for return tomorrow that has an i7 395X 512SSD! The reason I am returning it is for three reasons...

1) OS X still displays UI Lag in various places such as the photos app and iTunes (full screen) so I feel the expensive upgrade costs aren't justified as a home user.
    2) The graphics chips are the same as last year and not a real upgrade compared to a switch to nvidia or a die shrink.
    3) To be honest for what I'm doing the top spec is probably overkill anyway.

The reason I went all out on the top spec originally was for investment and future proofing but on reflection I don't think this years model is the milestone model to chuck all your money on maxing out unless you are a pro and your living depends on it. I am not a pro and more of a prosumer but I want an iMac now so I will compromise on spec and sell it when a milestone upgrade is available, be it next year or the year after!

so my question is, which of the alternative models in the title of this post is better for my usage case (below) and will the hyper threading in the i7 and the 395 vs the 390 benefit such use...

- Cities Skyline and Simcity (only games I'll play, unless hl3 comes out, which I seriously doubt) which apparently are more cpu dependant than gpu
    - Casual photo and video editing maybe some in 4K but that is more thinking ahead
    - Logic Pro, Ableton and other music creation daws
    - iTunes, web browsing with Lots of open tabs
    - heavy multitasking

Also, does OS X and multitasking in general benefit largely from hyper threading?

I am leaning towards i7 395 256SSD home ram upgrade to 16GB or 32GB

I have spent hours searching and this thread is a last resort so really appreciate your time guys. Thanks. Matt