Returning Macbook pro 13" for 15" at BB.....backup

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by awfpack, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. awfpack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #1
    I am going to return my 13" for the 15". How is the best (easiest) way to backup my 13" before I return it. This is my 1st ever MAC. I've had the 13" for about 10 days.

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #2
    the easiest way is to get an external and use time machine to backup. that way you can restore using it when you get the new one.
     
  3. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #3
    will it keep everything the same as i put it on my 13"?
    In iphoto i have over 10,000 pics that i organized and did the grouped by faces.
    Thanks
     
  4. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #4
    someone that's restored comment on this... although I think it will.
     
  5. shoppy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Hants
    #5
    If you back up and then restore it will be exactly as you left your 13" all preferences, settings files etc. I do this when I change machines, which I do frequently and it is fantastic saves me a day worth of installing and transferring files from the good old days. How i do not miss them at all.
     
  6. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #6
    Do you back up to a DVD or to a external drive?
     
  7. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #7
    Drive.
     
  8. awfpack, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #8
    i have all my files backed up on external drive. How to i get the computer back to factory settings (erase everything).
    Thanks
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Use Carbon Copy Cloner to an external drive. That will create an exact duplicate of your 13 MBP's hard drive.
     
  10. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #10
    how do i do this?
    do i clone the mac hd or the external drive?
    Thanks
     
  11. randomrazr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
  12. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #12
    Thats what I did with the 13 inch (ran time machine).... do i need to do anything else to the external drive? when i get the 15" do i just plug it in and the 15" will find the external hd?

    also how do i set the 13" back to factory settings with NONE of my info on the computer.

    Thank you so much for your help
     
  13. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #13
    ...

    if all you care about is your iPhoto library just copy the library to a usb key.
     
  14. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #14
    Can someone tell me how to delete everything off the 13" before I take it back
    Thanks
     
  15. dlimes13 macrumors 6502a

    dlimes13

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Perrysburg, OH
  16. awfpack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #16
    My computer already had lion on it. There was no disk.
    Thanks
     
  17. tears2040 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #17
    Why are you trading it back in?
     
  18. Nick McEnjoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #18
    Didn't it come with the software USB drive?
    Use the drive to restore the laptop to its factory default.
     
  19. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #19
    The beginning part of this article talks about how to boot your Mac to the Lion recovery partition. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718

    Do that, then look for the Disk Utility program on the menu bar. You may have to go a screen or two in before you can see that. Anyhow, use the Disk Utility program to erase your drive.

    IIRC, even if you use the Recovery Partition to reinstall Lion, it's not going to erase what was already on your drive unless you manually go into Disk Utility and erase the drive first.
     

Share This Page