Reusing an old back up on new iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by November.Terra, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. November.Terra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #1
    As the title says I'm planing on purchasing a new iMac and have been using a Macbook Pro so far.

    I have been constantly updating my time machine for my MBP so I was wondering if I can use this time machine back up to be used as an image for my new MBP that I plan on buying since some of the programs I have on my current MBP require serial keys which I don't remember where I have misplaced them.

    Simplified the question is:
    Can I use a Time Machine backup from A on B?
    Are programs also transfered through time machine?

    Thank you all in advance
     
  2. MacMur macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #2
    T/M Backup

    Yes you can use your T/M backup on your new machine. The option is there when you start the new machine allowing you to use the backup. Your setup will transfer as well as your programs.

    Good Luck
     
  3. C. Alan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #3
    You cant use the *entire* time machine image from a MBP on an Imac. The system files will be different. However, you should be able to use the migration tools to move your applications, and user settings and files off your TM backup to your new Imac.

    Have fun!
     
  4. rekhyt macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #4
    Is everything restored through Migration Tools with Time Machine? Like system settings, applications, ..., or do they just move the files and neglect everything else?
     
  5. C. Alan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    #5
    It appears that you can move your applications and settings. See this article for more information: http://www.tuaw.com/2008/10/29/6-easy-steps-to-migrate-your-mac-using-time-machine/

    I have done it from a volume before as well.
     

Share This Page