Reversing iLiberty+

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SpeksETC, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. SpeksETC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #1
    I understand that the way iLiberty+ downgrades the baseband can be reversed, but havent found anything that says how to reverse this. Do you just do a restore via iTunes?
     
  2. msproductions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Waco/Victoria , Texas
    #2
    I am wondering the same thing, that is how-to. I tried recovering in iTunes & I get an error.
     
  3. JonnyIc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    #3
    Same for me, I downgraded my bootloader from 4.6 to 3.9FB (I hope I did since I have selected that option in iLiberty+). I just wonder if I need to download any apps to change the 3.9FB back to 4.6 BEFORE I restore.
     
  4. rrijkers macrumors 6502

    rrijkers

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Google 'Bootneuter' (But all at your own risk of course) :cool:
     
  5. msproductions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Waco/Victoria , Texas
    #5
    what if we are unable to get to the installer? I am having touchscreen problems...:mad:
     
  6. Bad Ash macrumors regular

    Bad Ash

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    To get back to 4.6 (stock) all you have to do is use iLiberty+. Go to the advanced tab, all the way on the bottom you will see "Upgrade bootloader from 3.9FB to 4.6 (stock)" Click that and run iLiberty+. Could not be easier. Hope this helps.
     
  7. msproductions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Waco/Victoria , Texas
    #7
    1. I don't have that option, only the reverse (4.6 to 3.9FB)
    2. When you say "run," do you mean click the button "go for it"?
    3. I cannot un-check the "jailbreak" option, which would seem to defeat the purpose of #1

    Thanks for the help:eek:
     
  8. Bad Ash macrumors regular

    Bad Ash

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    Ok, my fault, it's under advanced then on the bottom click Payloads Available On Repo. It will be the last choice there. And to jailbrake there is no need to downgrade the bootloader unless you are unlocking. Don't worry about it still having jailbreak checked. If you are concerned about that do a simple restore which will restore everything back to normal but the bootloader. Then just do a simple jailbreak again using the upgrade the bootloader option. Good luck.
     
  9. Bad Ash macrumors regular

    Bad Ash

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    Also if you used iLiberty+ and did the 3.9fb downgrade it does NOT change the baseband what so ever (one of the perks of using iLiberty over other unlocking methods). Not sure if you were got bootloader and baseband mixed up.
     
  10. msproductions macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Waco/Victoria , Texas
    #10
    So I did upgrade the bootloader. I tried doing a restore, but iTunes said it couldn't connect to it. (error message of sorts). However my touchscreen was working again, but the signal wasn't working. So i thought I'd uninstall the program that I felt was creating the program (and also other programs I felt I didn't need.) I restarted the spring board & then it reset itself & put itself in restore mode. iTunes detected it, but then gave an error, saying something about "iPhone **** is locked with passcode, please unlock it. (Which last time I checked can't be done from inside restore mode. I then tried using iLiberty+ to kick it out of Restore Mode, but the button was grayed out. I then realized a pop up on my iPhone that read "Please contact Apple Support at http://... iPhone need repair." So i figure at this point I am SOL...:confused:

    Let me know if you think there is anything I could do. Thanks for the help

    Thanks apple for making it so hard to have fun...:apple:
     
  11. waldog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #11
    I was wondering something. I did the jailbreak and activate and bootloader with iliberty+ and fake the bootloader. I then had some problem after a few hours with not having installer app. I did the jailbreak again to get installer and didn't check the bootloader option. Did I screw my bootloader or will it remain at the fake one no matter jailbreaking again without the option checked? I just want to make sure I didn't permanently downgrade my bootloader the second time cause I didn't check the fake bootloader option.
     

Share This Page