Ridiculous performance after alt-tab?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yalag, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. yalag macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    I just bought the retina macbook pro with 16gb ram. I thought this machine will have decent performance but I can't even alt-tab from a game (starcraft 2). Whenever I do, the computer gets so slow I can barely type. Every action is delayed by 1-2 seconds.

    What's wrong with the macbook or OSX? When you alt-tab it should suspend the application. Even windows 95 does that!!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Do you by any chance mean COMMAND + TABULATOR instead of Alt/OPTION + TABULATOR?
    And where does Windows 95 suspend an application when not being active?
     
  3. yalag thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #3
    Yes I mean command + tab
     
  4. iaymnu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #4
    I have no problem with that. I do it all the time with Diablo3. Runs normally and no slowing at all. Which OsX are you using.
     
  5. yalag thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #5
    Maybe d3 is different from sc? Do you also have sc?

    Others who play sc can share their experience?
     
  6. Vctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    #6
    I play SC2 and I have no issues Command + Tabbing out. Are you sure you're running on discrete graphics?

    Also be sure to uncheck the option "Reduce Mouse Lag" ... I've found that this really screws with the performance.
     
  7. yalag thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #7
    How do I make sure I am running on discrete graphics?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Have you tried gfxCardStatus?
     
  9. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #9
    Installing GFXCardStatus will cause more problems than it will solve. This does not sound like a GPU issue, it sounds like something else is going on.
     
  10. yalag thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #10
    wait what resolution are you guys running the game at? I'm running it at max resolution and then command tabbing.

    I also have a few findings.

    1) Everything becomes non-retina after I command tab. For example the text becomes blur etc.

    2) If I use full screen windowed mode, command tab will not slow down the computer! But it will continue to blur...
     
  11. iaymnu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #11
    I run maxed res. I never had problem 1. But I get like a checkered plaid screen mumbo jumbo when I first boot up a game from cold start. I'm guessing it's a glitch (hoping!!)
     

Share This Page