Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drnscr

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2011
All, I'm a newbie... forgive me...

What is the "right" way to set up my new iPhone 6 plus? Should I restore from the last back up of my iPhone 5 or set up as new? If I set up as new, how do I get all of my content (apps, photos, music, etc) to the new phone?

Again, I beg your tolerance for an obviously stupid question.

RyanG

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2007
there isn't a "right" way, just the way that works for you. you can restore your iphone5 backup if you update to ios8 on it and perform a backup. my preference is to restore from icloud.

penajmz

macrumors 68040
Sep 11, 2008
New York City
Well it depends..

Personally I like to set up new iPhones as new because I don't want them to get any broken .plist files my old backup might have or anything like that. Its also my experience that when you set up as new things are just more smooth overall.

MegLuvsMacs

macrumors member
Sep 14, 2014
West Virginia
The only right way is the way you wanna do it. You can use a backup if you want all your camera roll pics on it, or you can set it up as a new phone. Either way you're a winner. Its all about personal preference :)

Makala

macrumors regular
Sep 12, 2014
Usually whenever I get a new Apple product I sync it up to my computer to sync my music & then download all the apps from the purchased area & then sort out folders for categories. Old fashioned, but it works for me. :eek:

Travisimo

macrumors 6502a
Dec 22, 2009
Restoring from backup definitely works, but I always choose to set up as new. I want my phone running as smoothly as possible, and almost everything I have on my phone now is on the cloud:

Contacts & Calendar - Synced with Google, so I can switch between iOS and Android as my leisure.