Ringtone Exploit foiled?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by stekerrod, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. stekerrod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Macclesfield/Salford England
    #1
    Hiya guys,

    i was trying to use the thing to get free ringtones (by chopping the song down to 30 seconds or so changing it to .m4r and putting it back into iTunes) and it basically doesnt work anymore! is this something Apple have fixed with 7.6?

    has anyone else noticed it? i've done it before for ringtones on the old version of iTunes so it aint as if i aint done it before!

    o and i had a quick look to see if anyone else had made a thread on this but couldnt see one!
     
  2. mixstar336 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    i havent sync to my phone yet but i was able to still create ringtones in the new itunes and have them import into the ringtones section of itunes.....i believe it still works
     
  3. stekerrod thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Macclesfield/Salford England
    #4
    never mind it's working now! i now feel like a **** - i'll let you figure out the 4 letter word to go there!
     
  4. St. Germain macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #5
  5. westernmass macrumors 6502

    westernmass

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Western Mass.
    #6
    I was gonna say, it still works with XP. I did one last night. :)
     
  6. lawcomic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #7
    Mac users, stop screwing around with hacks, exploits, etc.

    Garageband makes ringtones now. It's as easy as any other method out there.
     
  7. mkstewartesq@co macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Yeah, but this only works if you have the Garageband that comes with iLife 08, correct?

    For example, I don't think this will work with the Garageband installed on the Macbook I purchased a year or so ago (iLife 06), and there isn't a free update with this functionality that I can find anywhere . . .

    M
     
  8. Mexicam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    #9
    It still works

    Make a copy of your audio file in iTunes "Get info"
    Make the file shorter that 0:30 and convert to ACC file and pull it to the desktop.
    click on the file and go to "Get Into" the file will have a .M4a behind the name. Change it to M4r.
    Erase the original files from the iTunes and then put the new file into the Ring tone playlist.

    That should work. I hope I explained it clearly
    :apple:
     
  9. nalditou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #10
    hey guys max time for a ringtone it's 39 seconds, if lasts 40+ it doesnt appear on the iphone, theres a way of changing that?

    pd. sorry didnt wanted to open another thread for something ringtone related.
     
  10. lawcomic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #11
    Good question. I don't know.


    iLife is $79, and really should be on all Macs, however. That's, of course, opinion.
     
  11. Wiljo5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    #12
    does this method (cut the song to 30secs and converting to .m4r) works on an 1.1.3 (upgraded from 1.1.2 otb) iphone and iTunes 7.6.??and in Windows Vista???
     
  12. waterskier2007 macrumors 68000

    waterskier2007

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    White Lake, MI
    #13
    thats tough to answer because it seems like almost nothing works on vista:D
     

Share This Page