Ringtone issues?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Raist3001, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. Raist3001, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017

    Raist3001 macrumors 65816

    Raist3001

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #1
    Since iTunes 12.7 removed the ability to manage ringtones, I have to drag a tone to the iTunes window in order to sync to my iPhone. My phone is configured to use the specific ringtone that I transferred but when my phone rings, it uses the default apple ringtone. If I change to any other tone on my phone, the phone will ring properly. So this is only affecting ringtones transferred to iPhone from a finder window.

    Anyone here having this issue?

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/8089779

    https://origin-discussions2-us-dr.apple.com/thread/8074620?start=30&tstart=0

    Just to be clear, All of my purchased iTunes or custom ringtones appear in my ringtone list on my iPhone after a transfer to iTunes (and sync) and can be previewed and played as normal, however my chosen transferred ringtone is ignored and instead the device uses the factory-default ringtone. So the ringtone is definitely on my device, and can be played (previewed). I suspect it is a bug. Or Apple has removed the ability to transfer tones to iTunes.
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors G3

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Apple does remove the ability to manage and sync ringtones in latest iTunes, one major reason I do not want to upgrade.
     
  3. chanerz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #3
    delete all your ringtones through itunes and re download them. That fixed my rington issue when I bought my IP8+.
     
  4. psac macrumors 6502a

    psac

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #4
    It especially pisses me off now since my old custom made ringtone was Free Fallin’, and now they make it REALLY difficult to use anything other than purchased ringtones.
     
  5. madmin, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017

    madmin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #5
    Yeah that worked for me too. I have a bunch of contacts who have their own (homemade) ringtones and thankfully it remembered them. I used the drag and drop method in iTunes.
     
  6. Raist3001, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017

    Raist3001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Raist3001

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #6
    I certainly do not want to re-download all my 100+ ringtones to my iPhone to fix the issue. Nor is this a fix for custom ringtones. Or tones no longer available in iTunes.
     
  7. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Sometimes Apple makes the small things so hard to do!
     
  8. Raist3001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Raist3001

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Right behind you
  9. cc999 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #9
    Just drag and drop into the tones folder on the phone in itunes. That works perfectly.

    CC
     
  10. HenryAZ macrumors 6502a

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #10
    100+ ringtones, really?
     
  11. Raist3001 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Raist3001

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    Right behind you
    #11
    This is not my issue. Please read my first post again.

    Ringtones and tones. Yes 100+
    I am a ringtone fan.
     
  12. Gathomblipoob macrumors 601

    Gathomblipoob

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #12
    I drag them into the On My Device portion of iTunes 12.7.
     

Share This Page

11 October 3, 2017