Ringtone not showing up on iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Krispy162, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Krispy162 macrumors regular

    Krispy162

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #1
    I followed the steps as i've always done. Synced it. It show's that it is in my ringtone folder on both itunes and on the actual iphone but when i go into settings and try to change it to that ringtone... nothing?!

    Any help?
     
  2. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #2
    how long is it? if its over 40 seconds it will almost never work, infact the time in which you should to consider being the limit for ringtones is 30 seconds

    1) to make sure that it will work

    2) so that copyright laws dont get you

    thats the only reason why i can think your ringtone isnt showing up is that its too long
     
  3. gabe281 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    If you're trying to choose your custom ringtone as a text message alert, it won't show up there. The custom ringtones will only show up as sounds for your incoming calls.
     
  4. Krispy162 thread starter macrumors regular

    Krispy162

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #4
    The ringtone is 23 seconds long

    nope as a ringtone not text sound alert
     
  5. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #5
    If your jailbroken, you can use OpenSSH with a app for your Mac like Fugu to dump the ringtone file right into the ringtones folder. That would get it on the phone.

    David
     
  6. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #6
    i prefer doing it this way that way there is only one list of ringtones and no "custom" ones
     
  7. Krispy162 thread starter macrumors regular

    Krispy162

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    #7
    I did another song and it showed up but that other one still doesn't. No big deal. It's not jailbroken but i was wondering is it bad to do that? B/c i would love to have text ringtones and all the other cool features but i'm not sure if it's worth it?
     
  8. ohsnapcojax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    #8
    I Figured It Out!!!!

    OKAY! You guys will all be happy if you were having the same problem as me. Syncing all the ringtones, but only one, or none show up on your iphone.

    YOU HAVE TO delete the AAC version you created in your music library on itunes. Then, go to the ringtones section under your iphone and deselect to sync, then when it's finished select it to sync all ringtones again.

    VOILA! you have all of your ringtones. :D
     
  9. sransari macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    #9
    Yep, this worked for me, thanks!!!

     
  10. nicknamed001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #10
    OMG ur a genious!! thank you so much :)) im a happy man.
     
  11. eauman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
  12. ertdredge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    #12
    Rename works, too

    Oh, thank you, this was bugging me, too. Couldn't figure out what had changed, it stopped working when I upgraded my phone.

    Changing the name of the ringtone (say, just add "ringtone" on the end) seems to work, too.
     
  13. noelthomas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #13
    except incoming call ringtone no other sounds work

    my iphone4 does not produce sound for any notifications as well as for music and videos. speakers might not be in complaint as incoming call ringtone and alearm works akso in call loud speaker, but nothing else.my firmware is ios 5.1.1 and i have installed cydia and installous. please help
     
  14. PotMong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #14
    iphone

    it wont let me do the ringtones, and i have tried EVERYTHING... even what they said and it seemed to work for all you but not for me:S :(

    ----------

    i done it now i just dragged the items from tones over my iphone :)xx
     

Share This Page