Ringtones & itunes

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Bulldog VII, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. Bulldog VII macrumors 6502

    Bulldog VII

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Well I thought I would have a crack at creating a ringtone & guess what it doesn't appear to be supported in the UK.

    If this is the case then I seriously unimpressed with apple.

    I have checked my version of itunes & it's 7.5 which is the most up to date

    Anyone have any suggestions??
     
  2. Project macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    #3
    If you are on a Mac just convert any M4A track to M4R. Then trim it to the 30 seconds you want (I use quicktime to do this), then add it to iTunes. Done.
     
  3. Bulldog VII thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bulldog VII

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Thanks for your help

    It looks like we will have to wait in the UK :(

    How do I conver an MP4 to the other one you said? :eek:
     
  4. ajl917 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    #5
    Wow, I think I might have to make a tutorial. Guys, download a program named Audacity(music editing software, free) then download some attachment called something Lame. Install it, load your desired ringtone into that program, edit it away, save it as an mp3, but to do that, you need to have Lame installed. Then sync it onto your phone as a song, then using SendSong, send it to your ringtones, and now you have yourself a ringtone. Even if you uninstall SendSong, everything still works.
     
  5. designaholic macrumors regular

    designaholic

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #6
    I can confirm that this doesn't work in 1.1.2 (UK). You can add a .m4r file to iTunes, it will show in 'Ringtones' and in the iPhone 'Ringtones' tab, but when you sync the ringtone doesn't appear in the Ringtone settings on iPhone.
     
  6. Leemo macrumors 6502

    Leemo

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #7
    Erm - it's working for me? I've got 5 ringtones that I've cut down on there now.
     
  7. Ducky280 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Near Lisburn
    #8
    Nice web design work - P.M me as we are looking for a new designer :)
     
  8. Stonie24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Over There
    #9
    renaming to .m4r works for me as well..

    9 - ringtones so far...:D:D:D
     
  9. SBik2 macrumors 6502a

    SBik2

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Location:
    /private/var/root
    #10
    not for me... jailbroken 1.1.1 iPhone and iTunes 7.5.. any help?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. martymcr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #11
    Works fine on my standard UK phone too! Got my Harry Potter theme working without any issue!
     
  11. designaholic macrumors regular

    designaholic

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #12
    Just tried again with a different sample, seems to work fine now! :cool:
     
  12. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    The ability to use any .m4r music file as a ringtone is specific to the iPhone 1.1.2 firmware and not iTunes 7.5.

    If you attempt to do this in iTunes 7.5 with the 1.1.1 iPhone firmware, the ringtone will appear in iTunes, but you will receive a "file not supported by iPhone" error when you attempt to sync.

    If you wish to remain on 1.1.1, you need iToner.

    And right now only the European edition of 1.1.2 is confirmed to work. It remains to be seen if the US edition of 1.1.2 will allow custom ringtones.
     

Share This Page