Ringtones Problem

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by MacDryCleaner, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. MacDryCleaner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    #1
    I have a recurring problem.

    I have set different (default, nothing custom) ringtones up for different contacts.

    However, more than half the time their custom ringtone didn't work. Instead, it would use the system wide ringtone I have chosen. But ... 10 minutes later it will ring using their custom ringtone.

    Anyone else?

    What gives?

    Thanks everybody
     
  2. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #2
    Wish I had an answer for you on that one, because the same thing happens to me. One time, very oddly enough, I got the first two seconds of the custom ringtone, then it switched over to the regular ringtone. Very, very odd.
     
  3. alfredog1976 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #3
    I have the exact same problem...very random. :confused: Has to be a bug associated with firmware 1.1.2.. I did not have this problem when I was running the previous firmware I had, running custom ringtones (1.1). Hopefully this is fixed in the next firmware.
     
  4. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #4
    Oddly enough, I was perusing the Apple Discussion boards, and this was in one of the threads as a possible solution:

    Go to iTunes
    Uncheck Sync Ringtones in the Ringtones tab
    Sync
    Recheck Sync Ringtones
    Sync

    Haven't been able to try it, as I haven't shut down and restarted my PC (cause Apple don't care about us 64-bit Vista users), but I plan to give it a shot sometime in the next day or so.
     
  5. gabeLA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5
    have to say that i have the same problem and i did try this process allready...didn't work for me. waiting for the new update and see if that fix it.
    not much to do till then...sorry
     
  6. alfredog1976 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #6
    So updated to 1.1.3...seems to be a minor improvement for this problem. Out of 6 times a contact called, only once did the iPhone play the default ringtone instead of the custom one I had setup for that contact.
     
  7. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #7
    I don't have the problem myself, but seems like a stupid error! This is actually the first I've heard about it!

    Have you tried calling Apple to tell them the problem?
     
  8. alfredog1976 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #8
    I haven't called Apple, but I'll let them know. Wondering if anyone else with 1.1.3 has this same problem still. Funny thing is, this also occurs with Apples own ringtones. I also tried the sync solution that was posted in this thread but to no avail, didn't work either.
     
  9. gabeLA macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #9
    After 1.1.3 I had this problem only once :confused:during the first day... But somehow it still there. Better but not fixed.
    Keep trying apple, u are close...the problem is, who wants to pay for ringtones that don't work?
     
  10. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #10
    I noticed this is happening to me all too much I thought it was something with syncing two iphones on one computer but no- has anyone figured it out yet?
    I find this to be very annoying!
     
  11. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #11
    I think this (above) was the right idea but missing a few steps:

    1-Go to iTunes
    2-Uncheck Sync Ringtones in the Ringtones tab
    3-Sync (custom ringtones should not be on Iphone now)
    4-Go to all the contacts that had custom or non default ringtones and set it to the default ringtone. NOTE: Even though it shows that it is the default ringtone set, I selected an alternative ringtone and then selected or re-selected the default.
    5-Recheck Sync Ringtones
    6-Sync (custom Ringtones are back on Iphone)

    So far this has worked for me (1-day into the testing). When I unchecked and Synced the ringtones, like the original post states, and then re-selected ringtones and synced I noticed that when I went to a contact that had a custom ringtone it was already set to that custom ringtone, even though before the last sync that ringtone did not exist on the Iphone- telling me that that connection to the ringtone was some how relinking automatically - which could be the problem. So after completing step 4 I have yet to get a call from someone and have the wrong ringtone. But I would love to hear from others!
     
  12. kyleaa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #12
    I feel like this is more likely related to the iphone not correctly processing the caller ID information quick enough, than the phone incorrectly linking contacts to ringtones - if that were the case, it would never be playing the right custom ringtone.

    Also, you can make custom ringtones in Garageband without paying anything. Just use the Share -> Send Ringtone to iTunes option
     
  13. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #13
    Yes most of us are aware of the custom ringtones free with Garage Band, those of us with Macs anyway. But so far this seems to be doing the trick as I have now gone 2-3 days and all call have had the proper assigned ringtone when calling!
     
  14. mrobison macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    AR
    #14
    Another Problem

    This is a different problem, but since it's being discussed I didn't want to start a new thread-
    I've been working all afternoon to get two different ringtones on my iPhone. They are from videos that I downloaded from youtube, extracted audio, trimmed and exported in Garageband. They both show up fine and play fine in iTunes, and will both sync. However, if I sync both only one of them shows up, and it shows up TWICE. Under the ringtones column of my phone in iTunes it shows both and plays both.

    I've reset the phone, restarted the computer, I've even exported the tracks in logic as AAC and then did the m4a to m4r trick.

    Every time yields the same results. Has anyone else had this (ridiculously aggravating) problem?!?
     
  15. asfmd314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #15
    Different problem

    I customized some ringtones and synced them on my iphone. Now I can't get any ringtones or my phone to ring. Is this a hardware or software problem?
    I can hear the songs on itunes and the ringtones when sampled. My phone doesn't ring when called or vibrate unless on silent and then it vibrates.
    Any ideas out there?
     

Share This Page