Rip Bluray w/PS3 for playback on PS3 (LPCM)?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iMerlin, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. iMerlin macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #1
    I know this is more of an APTV forum but you guys know what you are talking about, so I think this is the best place for this question. Ive spent 3 days searching and still cant seem to figure this out.

    I have a PS3 with Ubuntu loaded. I can successfully rip Blurays by following all the guides Ive found on the forums here. Thank you! I have the ISO file loaded in Parallels running Windows 7. I have AnyDVDHD as well as tsMuxer.

    So I rip the ISO to my Mac/Win 7 mounted drive. I then mount the ISO using AnyDVDHD. I then load the virtual drive in tsMuxer and Mux it to an m2ts file. I pop over to OS X and load the m2ts file into Handbrake. I make a few different version of the bluray:

    m4v file for playback on my Mac which I usually use a modified version of the Apple TV preset and this seems to work pretty well.

    mp4 file for copying to my external FAT32 drive for plugging into the PS3. This is where I run into my issue. I cant seem to force Handbrake to make my mpeg4 file with any kind of HD audio (LPCM). Im not entirely sure which audio option to pick. Right now Im attempting to Rip Wall-E with the highest available audio and this is what Im given as choices...
    [​IMG]
    Even though tsMuxer said DTS HD was available.

    But when I select anything that looks remotely like HD it changes the file format to m4v...
    [​IMG]

    So I do some googling and discover LPCM is only supported in Mpeg2 format. Not sure about that though.

    Sorry for the long post guys... My ultimate goal is to get a nice bluray rip on an external drive to watch on my PS3. The mp4s seem to work very nicely when I rip it with 6.1 discrete. But I would prefer the LPCM.
    So how does everyone else go about this?
    Are there other ways of doing this that would simplify things?

    Thanks
     
  2. jeffzoom91 macrumors regular

    jeffzoom91

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Well, I don't know if it has occured to you yet as I found out last night, but the PS3 will natively play m2ts files with whatever audio track (provided it, or the receiver you're passing it through to) can decode it.

    TL;DR version: Put nothing into handbrake, just play the M2TS file.
     
  3. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    Ok, this is what I dont understand... I know the PS3 can handle and play an m2ts file, but how to I get one to it? The m2ts files are still 20+gb. Its not like I can put that on a thumb drive. The PS3 only accepts external drives formatted at FAT32, with FAT32s file size restrictions, how do I possibly get a 20gb file to the PS3?

    Also, Ive been reading about this for a while, I dont think mp4 files can support LPCM or any HD audio for that matter, so that is more of the issue than getting the files to the PS3. But like I said, if I could figure out how to get the m2ts file to the PS3, we would be all set.

    Other than sacrificing the soundtrack and having to go with regular 5.1, the pic quality is still outstanding. Im surprised that the rips look so good since they only end up being around 5gb.
     
  4. jeffzoom91 macrumors regular

    jeffzoom91

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Well, the way I stumbled into this discovery was how I got to the files. I was running Rivet, which created a server that showed up as a media server for the ps3. Strangely, all MKVs showed up as unknown files, but the mt2s files showed up and played. I know the movie I was watching was almost that big, if not bigger, so I know the bitrate is possible, but you're definitely going to want a hardwired network connection.
     
  5. iMerlin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iMerlin

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #5
    Jeff, thanks for this... I tried it wireless and you are right, not enough bandwidth. Really choppy playback. Ive been looking for an excuse to hardwire my PS3 and this might be it! Its gonna take me a fricken weekend though!
     
  6. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #6
    I'm poking around on this idea... I'd like to rip a BD, then have it readable via a USB 2.0 HDD on the PS3. I'd only want to do a full rip. I don't want to degrade the audio or lose any of the surround sound audio, particularly with the HD codecs.

    Any thoughts?
     
  7. nordesmic macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #7
    The options are fairly limited to play the full rips on the PS3.

    1. Hardwire your computer to your PS3. This means there is no file size restrictions. You will only be able to play DD5.1 tracks using this method because you are only accessing the XMB which doesn't have HD-audio decoding.

    2. Copy the full files to the internal PS3 hard-drive which has no file size restrictions cos it uses a custom formatting system. However the only way to copy it would be over a network. You could fit 5-10 full rips on the internal HD. Same issues with HD-audio as option 1.

    3. Use tsMuxer to split the full blu-ray into 4 GB chunks and play from USB hard drive. This method allows HD-audio decoding as the chunks are authored in Blu-ray disc file structure.

    I stuffed around with these options for a long time and wired my house with ethernet. Eventually I decided to buy a Popcorn-Hour media player because of the ability to pass the HD-audio formats to an AV receiver and the ability to play MKV files.
     
  8. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #8
    Thanks for the info... Basically what I want to do is timeshift BD. I've got an infant that loves to play in the home theater cabinet so I keep it locked. Plus it's a pain to swap PS3 games and movies. It would be really sweet to rip the BD on my Mac, then transfer to the PS3 either network or USB drive. I'll just delete them once I watch.

    That doesn't seem possible... It doesn't have to be the PS3, just figured since it had the guts to play BD as it is.
     

Share This Page