Rip Off?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by floatingspirit, Jan 22, 2006.

  1. floatingspirit macrumors 6502

    Oct 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA

    Anyone ever heard of this place or done business with them? I first found a Craig's List add for the MacBook, which I responed to, and then they sent me the url. Sounds too good to be true! :eek:

    Favorite quote from the website:

    "we are only able to respond to the inquiries that are of interest to us"
  2. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

    May 2, 2005
    Yes. It's a ripoff.

    The MacBook pro isn't shipping until February.
  3. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a


    Dec 11, 2004
    Nor are they listed under the Apple Resellers page, despite listing they are an Authorised reseller.
    Avoid like the plague.
    EDIT: They're also registered in Odessa, Ukraine and set up site 4 days ago
    Again - Avoid.
  4. ldenman macrumors regular

    Jul 20, 2005
  5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus


    Jul 28, 2003
    Citizens Bank Park
    I don't think it is.
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5


    Oct 11, 2004
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    The domain was registered last week with the owner's address given as in the Ukraine -- a popular choice for scammers because the code UA 65080 can easily be mistaken for an address in Utah, USA.

    The prices of course are impossibly low. They cannot be selling new Apple equipment at 20-40% below Apple's dealer wholesale -- 10 pack of 60Gb iPod videos $2500, 10 pack of Mac Minis $3000

    Compare the terms and conditions of use at appleseals to -- they have completely ripped off CDW's website terms and conditions, including a non-functional 'vendor page' link at the bottom. (note: CDW is a legitimate seller and not related in any way to appledeals).

    "We Put Our Customers First
    Our ability to assist our clients on important decisions on software, hardware and rapidly changing technology is what has made us leaders in our industry and kept us serving Fortune 500 companies in Los Angeles since 1993."

    This whole section is a ripoff of California Computer Centre's website -- they didn't even bother to change Los Angeles to Mountain View or San Francisco.

    The site does not provide a phone number
    They are not an authorized Apple dealer according to Apple. This would mean that the Authorized dealer logo at the top is a lie.

    "Please note that due to the large volume of correspondence we receive, we are only able to respond to the inquiries that are of interest to us. Thank you in advance for your understanding."

    Meaning they probably only respond to people likely to stupid enough to send their money to an unknown person in another country.

    There is no listing for a company named Apple Deals in the USA in the Better Business Bureau database (which includes both member and non member companies)

    Apple Deals, LLC
    450 Castro Street
    Mountain View, CA 94041 has no listing for a 450 Castro St. in Mountain View. There is a 450 Castro St in San Fancisco, occupied by a clothing store. Neither is there a listing for a company named Apple Deals in the USA. was a name used in a previous fraud operation from the Ukraine, accordingto reports in Macintouch

    Domain Name: APPLEDEALS.US
    Domain ID: D9382665-US
    Sponsoring Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
    Registrant ID: GODA-016728551
    Registrant Name: Denis Synashko
    Registrant Organization: Global Connect Network
    Registrant Address1: 17th, Ak. Filatova str.
    Registrant City: Odessa
    Registrant State/Province: UA
    Registrant Postal Code: 65080
    Registrant Country: Ukraine
    Registrant Country Code: UA
    Registrant Phone Number: +380.664851510
    Registrant Facsimile Number: +380.17182282943
    Registrant Email: *************
    Registrant Application Purpose: P3
    Registrant Nexus Category: C32/us
    Administrative Contact ID: GODA-216728551
    Administrative Contact Name: Denis Synashko
    Administrative Contact Organization: Global Connect Network
    Administrative Contact Address1: 17th, Ak. Filatova str.
    Administrative Contact City: Odessa
    Administrative Contact State/Province: UA
    Administrative Contact Postal Code: 65080
    Administrative Contact Country: Ukraine
    Administrative Contact Country Code: UA
    Administrative Contact Phone Number: +380.664851510
    Administrative Contact Facsimile Number: +380.17182282943
    Administrative Contact Email: *************
    Administrative Application Purpose: P3
    Administrative Nexus Category: C32/us
    Billing Contact ID: GODA-316728551
    Billing Contact Name: Denis Synashko
    Billing Contact Organization: Global Connect Network
    Billing Contact Address1: 17th, Ak. Filatova str.
    Billing Contact City: Odessa
    Billing Contact State/Province: UA
    Billing Contact Postal Code: 65080
    Billing Contact Country: Ukraine
    Billing Contact Country Code: UA
    Billing Contact Phone Number: +380.664851510
    Billing Contact Facsimile Number: +380.17182282943
    Billing Contact Email: *************
    Billing Application Purpose: P3
    Billing Nexus Category: C32/us
    Created by Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
    Last Updated by Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
    Domain Registration Date: Tue Jan 17 15:42:21 GMT 2006
    Domain Expiration Date: Tue Jan 16 23:59:59 GMT 2007
    Domain Last Updated Date: Tue Jan 17 15:42:24 GMT 2006

    So: Draw your own conclusions.
  7. ahamilt2 macrumors member

    Sep 20, 2004
    Bellingham, WA
    Because it is in Ukraine.
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5


    Oct 11, 2004
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    Oh, I would venture to guess that misrepresentation and a few other things are against Ukranian law as well. Locating offshore just makes prosecution more difficult.
  9. FFTT macrumors 68030


    Apr 17, 2004
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    I strongly urge you to e-mail the U.S. Consulate in Kiev and report this scam.
  10. Texas04 macrumors 6502a


    Jul 2, 2005
    Definatley a Scam, the Network utility from apple is a handy tool :). Thanks for reminding me of that tool Canada, almost forgot it was there.
  11. iMeowbot macrumors G3


    Aug 30, 2003
    This outfit has been brought up on MR before, in this thread. Follow Katie's link there, they even carried over the iMac girl picture to their latest site :)

    Domains that this character has owned include, (all dead); and ("wire transfer" sites, still live).
  12. Counterfit macrumors G3


    Aug 20, 2003
    sitting on your shoulder
    They also list the Quad G5 $4,999. Typo probably, but I'm sure some people would believe it.

Share This Page