Rip video from DVD for EDIT (not piracy)

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by umbilical, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. umbilical macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #1
    hi, I have a important footage to me on DVD that I need rip for edit, BUT WITHOUT LOOSING ANY QUALITY (I hate handbrake and rip movies and things like that) I need a Pro method for extract the content from the dvd witout loosing quality for edit and later create again the dvd.

    I see ffmpegx and mpeg streamclip but! I see a lot settings, any really Pro preset or app that make this without loosing any pixel of quality, you know a perfect extract??????
     
  2. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #2
    You hate Handbreak? :confused: That's silly... :rolleyes:

    It could be a very useful tool for you.
     
  3. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #3
    well not hate, but you know I dont want rip movies to 600mb and things like that, I want a simple method for do this:

    1. INSERT DVD
    2. PRESS RIP
    3. Oh I get a folder with a .mov or some other format !!!! and wow I have in mind that I DONT LOOSE ANY QUALITY!!! now I can edit!

    that is! :D

    :confused:
     
  4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #4
    Have you looked at RipIt?

    Handbreak is adjustable, you know... ;)
     
  5. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #5
    ripit or mactheripper etc... not work for this beacuse they rip the .VOB files etc... I mean a unique single file! for later edit on imovie or final cut pro etc...

    Handbrake is ajustable yes... but! what is the preset or the settings for NOT LOOSE QUALITY! a full extract...
     
  6. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #6
    Fair enough, you need an exact rip. All I am saying is don't dismiss Handbreak just because it encodes it smaller than the DVD. I am watching an encode right now on my 42" and it looks great just using a preset. With some tweeking, I am sure HB could do the job, are you selling this work to Hollywood? :p

    That's all, cheers! :)
     
  7. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I use:
    - Quicktime Pro
    - Apple MPEG2 component
    - MPEG Streamclip.

    Open DVD in MPEG Streamclip. Convert to Quicktime - codec DV. Done.

    DV is a perfectly fine editing codec that will work as-is in iMovie, any version from 1 to 8, FCE and FCP. And just about anything else, too.

    Note: this will not work for copy-protected DVDs.
     
  8. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #8
    Mroogle will have answered that question for you many and plenty of times.


    There is MacTheRipper, RipIt and Fairmount to rip (copy the DVD to your HDD while removing the copyright protection) the video DVD to your HDD.

    Then there is Handbrake to convert the ripped DVD to a file like .mkv, .mp4 and .avi with MPEG-4 codecs like Xvid and H264, which are not meant for editing though, as they don't store every frame of the video (video DVDs use MPEG-2 as a codec, which also only stores every 15th frame and the frames in between are approximations).
    After that you can use MPEG-Streamclip to convert the compressed video file to a .mov file encoded with the DV codec (or AIC - Apple Intermediate Codec), a codec iMovie can read and is meant for editing, as it stores every frame and takes up approx. 220MB/min.
    You can also skip Handbrake and use MPEG-Streamclip for converting directly to a DV/AIC encoded .mov file from the ripped video DVD, but you need the QuickTime MPEG-2 component (19USD) to be able to access the MPEG-2 encoded video DVD footage via MPEG-Streamclip.
    But it would save one encoding process.

    OR

    In order for you to edit your videos stored on the video DVD, you need to rip it via MacTheRipper / RipIt / Fairmount, if the video DVD is copy protected (all commercial video DVDs are).
    If it is not copy protected, you might be just able to copy the Video_TS folder onto your HDD.

    Now there are two ways to convert the MPEG-2 compressed footage.
    1. Get Handbrake and convert the footage to either an .avi file with the Xvid codec (2-pass or Constant Quality of 100% and highest bitrate for video and audio) or an .mp4/.m4v file with the H264 codec (the same as with Xvid).
    Then use MPEG Streamclip to convert/export the .avi or .mp4/.m4v file to a QuickTime (.mov - CMD+E) file encoded with the DV codec or the Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) or to a DV file (CMD+OPTION/ALT+E).
    Both, .mov and .dv, can be read by iMovie.
    2. Get the QuickTime MPEG-2 Playback Component from the Apple Online Store for 20USD, open MPEG Streamclip, in there go to File > Open DVD and select your Video_TS folder on your HDD.
    Then either export it as QuickTime with the DV codec or AIC or as DV file as explained in step 1.
    This saves you one encoding process, therefore time and image quality loss.


    Screenshots:

    MPEG Streamclip export options
    [​IMG]

    Handbrake export as .mp4 - example
    [​IMG]
     
  9. natlinxz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Location:
    Hey, don't be a pedophile!
    #9
    Welcome to video making.

    I use DVDs for all my videos, and edit them in iMovie 09. I have to use two programs before editing: Handbrake, and MPEG Streamclip. It takes up a ton of space in the end, but thats video editing. Nobody said making videos would be easy on the hard drive.
     
  10. totoum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #10
    The Handbrake team themselves recomend to NOT use handbrake if you're going to edit a video

    http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/SupportFAQ

    I know the solution they recomended is the second option spinnerlys gave,but I just wanted to add this quote because if the developers themselves tell you not to use their software,it's a sign that it isn't such a good idea
     

Share This Page