RIP Young iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Teh Hoff, Apr 7, 2008.

1. Teh Hoff macrumors newbie

Apr 7, 2008
    So I'm brand new to this fourm because I simply just got my iPhone. It was a present for my birthday. Got it Thursday, used it non-stop, and three days later, on Saturday... its dead.

I went out to celebrate my birthday and got sideswiped on the sidewalk by another bar-goer, and it flew into a wall.... shattered glass, and the 90% of the LCD doesn't function (Touch Feature still works though, but I cant find the right buttons to unlock via password). So anyways, It had an enjoyable 72 hour life.

Apple is charging me $200 to fix the screen. It was purchased from AT&T, and they just kick me over to apple. I'm probably going to end up paying the fee and taking a road-trip to the apple store 2 hours away so I can get it replaced.

Does anyone have any other ideas of ways I might be able to get this covered? I thought AT&T had a no-questions asked 14 day return policy? Thanks for any suggestions!
  2. seattle macrumors 6502

May 15, 2007
    Was the iPhone purchased with a credit card? If so you might have some more options and should call them.
  3. themanfromvlad macrumors 6502

Mar 11, 2006
    AT&T most definitely does not offer a "throw your iPhone against a wall and we'll give you a new one for free" policy.
  4. themanfromvlad macrumors 6502

Mar 11, 2006
    That is a good idea. My AMEX and MasterCard offer 90 days accidental damage or loss protection.
  5. ViPa macrumors 6502a

Dec 4, 2007
    yeah att will not return the phone..unless you magically convince them not to open the box and look at the phone.
  6. philgilder macrumors 68000

Sep 30, 2007
    thats totally OUTRAGOUES, we should sue :p

you can post your phone to apple you know...
  7. Teh Hoff thread starter macrumors newbie

Apr 7, 2008