ripping a DVD to ipod using MR guide doesn't work, alternatives?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jng, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    So I have a 7.5 hr train ride tomorrow and just realized today that I can rip DVDs to my iPod for the ride.

    So I've been following this guide:
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Ripping_a_DVD_to_an_iPod_Video

    I do import it via Mac the Ripper first, then I go into Handbrake and I did it once fine but forget to reduce the picture to 320 in width so it wouldn't transfer to my ipod. When I try to do it now, Handbrake just crashes on me. I can get down to about 336 ok. Then at 320 it crashes. I've tried clicking and holding and letting the numbers fly down or slowly clicking the down arrow to 320 but either way it crashes.

    Any ideas why?

    Is there another way to rip a DVD to the ipod? What if I buy Quicktime Pro, I heard I could do it that way too.
     
  2. MacBlackBook22 macrumors 6502

    MacBlackBook22

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
  3. gillilandboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    St. Louis MO
    #3
    Hello,


    Try a program called handbrake it's great I use it ALL the time. It is also FREE


    Download:
    http://handbrake.m0k.org/
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Handbrake would be the direct route from DVD to iPod. iSquint and VisualHub can handle every other video format to iPod compatible.
     
  5. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #5
    If you just want some videos that look good on your iPod, try downloading the latest version of "Instant Handbrake", that has a presets for "iPod". I find it works very well.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Instant Handbrake hasn't been updated in ages. It was effectively a one shot and has been replaced by the options in Handbrake.
     
  7. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #7
    C'mon, please try and read people's posts before responding with suggestions that they are already using! :mad:
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Which version of Handbrake are you using? Have you tried deleting the preferences for it?
     
  9. jng thread starter macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    0.9.0

    the latest I guess since I downloaded it today.

    Hmm, in the prefs, I just found an option that lets me use ipod/itunes friendly extensions. Maybe that'll work....nope.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I mean in ~/Library/Application support and in ~/Library/Preferences.
     
  11. jng thread starter macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Hmm, I'm totally blind, I just noticed this on the side. Click "iPod Low Rez" and didn't even bother clicking "Picture settings". Now it's doing its thing making a MP4 file. Hopefully I'll have a workable iPod movie in an hour!

    Thanks for all your help :)

    PS - maybe someone should update the MR guide to just say, click "iPod Low Rez" heh.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jng thread starter macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
    Update:

    It worked! I ripped and created a file for my iPod perfectly. The first DVD (the Matrix) ripped fine. I then tried Casino Royale and it wouldn't work however. Kept saying done after the first scene, opening credits (<1 min.) weirdness.

    Another question though, almost all of my DVDs are widescreen and I only have an iPod Video, so it's kinda even smaller on there. Is there any way to make it bigger and fit the whole thing like full screen? (without distortion)
     
  13. ebony macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #13
    casino royale is very difficult to rip. It can be done on a pc using anydvd and nero.... but thats probably no help to you !
     
  14. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #14
    I ripped casino royale using Mac The Ripper 3.0 r14d last night with no problems.
     

Share This Page