Ripping DVD in Handbrake - problem

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by hatcheeks, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. hatcheeks macrumors member

    hatcheeks

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #1
    Hi, i have been ripping DVD's in handbrake for apple tv with no problems until i tried toy story 3 and bolt. when it scans the source it comes up with 99 different options. handbrake automatically chooses number 61. after ripping it and playing it back the film is jumbled up. it plays for about an 40 mins and then it jumps to the end credits and then some other bit etc

    anyone else come across a similar problem? and if so is there anyway round it?

    thanks for any help
     
  2. bearcatrp, Dec 30, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010

    bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #2
  3. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    You can also use DVD Player to find out how long the movie's runtime is on the DVD and then see if any of those options equals that time.

    You can also use the Preview option in Picture Settings to see what the actual video content in that file is.
     
  4. rpenzinger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #4
    Get Title from DVD Player

    as mentioned launch DVD player
    go through menu selection until you are watching main movie
    go to the pulldown menu 'GO' and select title, this is the title on the dvd the movie is on

    in handbrake make sure you cancel the dialogue box when handbrake opens
    then go to pulldown menu 'File' and select Open Source (title specific)
    select the dvd
    enter the title you found above
    Handbrake should encode fine

    if that fails make a copy of the dvd to hard drive using Little App Factory RipIt
    then do above
     
  5. hatcheeks thread starter macrumors member

    hatcheeks

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #5
    Thanks a lot for the responses. It worked like a charm. Started the actual movie in DVD on my MBP. Went to the menu and it was showing title no 9. Ripped it in handbrake using no 9, watched it on apple tv and it worked like a charm. Cheers

    Other problem I have is ripping homemade dvd's in handbrake. If I have a 4gb DVD it seems to be split into 4 1gb .VOB files and so handbrake will only rip 1 VOB file at a time which means I will end up with 4 separate files !!! Is there anyway around this?
     
  6. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #6
    I just wish we can rip DVD's to iTunes like we can with CD's, or at least all movies we buy come with a digital download.
     
  7. mobiletaylor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #7

    And if all the above don't work?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Since you resurrected this thread after more than two years, you seem to have a problem with your HandBrake version. Can you get into more detail about what versions of HB and VLC and Mac OS X you have on what specific Mac and what you have done till now to remedy your problem?
     
  9. mobiletaylor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #9
    VLC 2.0.5
    HandBrake 0.9.8
    Mountain Lion
    RipIt 1.6.6


    I'm in the process of converting my DVD collection to iTunes. Ripped my movie to Mac. Can watch it with DVD Player. Ripping movies with Handbrake using the AppleTV2 settings (looks like AppleTV3 is overkill because all my movies are SD). Almost everything has worked flawlessly. Just a few titles that won't rip with HandBrake. It starts, then stops after a second or two and says done.

    JT
     
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    HandBrake is a transcoding tool, it does not really rip if you already ripped the DVDs. Have you tried the troublesome DVDs directly with HB yet, meaning putting the DVD in and opening HB and let it do its job from there (you can test by only selecting a chapter or two of the main title)?

    If that does not work, tell us what exact movies/series you have problems with.
     
  11. mobiletaylor, Mar 31, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2013

    mobiletaylor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    #11
    OK, I'll have to dig those up and give it a try. I ripped them to my Mac and packed them away a year or two ago. I've been watching them on my Mac but wanted to start using AirPlay with the AppleTV. The DVD's are Toy Story 1 and Toy Story 3 (Oddly Toy Story 2 worked fine), The Goonies. There is another one, but I can't remember at the moment. Just seems odd that I've been using the same process for everything and only these titles are having problems. I assume the rip is fine because I can view it on my Mac? I'll dig those DVD's up and give it another try.

    Also, not sure if it makes any difference, but on the Goonies DVD Handbrake will rip the shorter titles, just not the main one.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  12. Kasalic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    #12
    I keep a copy of WinXDVD Ripper that I got cheap on offer. It tends to be my fall back for when other methods fail. Think it costs around $36 currently.
     
  13. Benjamin99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    #13
    Anyone have any other ideas on this? I've ripped about 200 movies over the last few months using Handbrake/VLC and am having the same issue (reads disc fine, then "completes" in about 10-15 seconds without doing more than just creating the destination file) with the following movies:

    The Legend of Zorro
    Definitely, Maybe
    Hancock
    Bewitched
    Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon
    Employee of the Month
    Shoot 'em Up
    The Eye
    Good Luck Chuck
    American Wedding
    Wild Hogs
    GoodFellas
    New Jack City
    Babel
    RV
    The Game Plan
    School for Scoundrels
    Batman
     
  14. Cinephi1e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    Northwest Ohio
    #14
    One possibility is that there are too many audio and subtitles tracks in the ripped DVD. Before performing the rip uncheck all the unnecessary audio and subtitle tracks and then rip. Handbrake should work now. Also make sure that you have enabled large files in Handbrake.
     
  15. Benjamin99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    #15
    I had tried that and still no good. However, i went ahead and downloaded the trial version of RipIt - so far it is working its way through 4 of these today without any issues. So I'll get about 10 rips then I'll have to decide if I want to shell out the $35 for a license to keep this as a backup to Handbrake......
     
  16. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #16
    I have about half of these ripped via HB from my DVDs. Never had any issues. Worse case is use Open Source Title Specific. But most of these are old enough you shouldn't need it.
     

Share This Page