Ripping questions

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by piltupso, Apr 19, 2007.

1. piltupso macrumors regular

I am new to ripping DVD's. I have read a lot about ripping speeds and fps. I am trying to find a baseline as what could be considered "good" speed and how do I check fps anyway. I am using Mac The Ripper 3.0 on a Mac Pro 2.66 with 1 GB ram. To rip a DVD using main feature extraction takes about 30 min and I have no idea of the fps as I don't know how to check this yet. Is this a "good" speed and is there anything I can do to speed this up?

2. epochblue macrumors 68000

epochblue

If anyone is talking to you about FPS, they're either talking about a game or their talking about Handbrake. As far as I know, the way MTR rips DVDs, it doesn't ever report or even keep FPS data.

30 minutes per DVD might be a little high, but perhaps your ripping big movies....or perhaps 3.0 takes longer than 2.6.6. 30 minutes is certainly not "bad," though.

3. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

slooksterPSV

Actually when ripping DVD's some will give you a FPS count, because you are ripping frames like if you use Handbrake, it will report it to you in FPS; FPS isn't for games, sorry, it is for things that use Frames, and handles Frames as well. If it takes you 30 min to rip a DVD, dang that's fast, it takes me almost 6 hours to rip 1 dvd on my iBook with Handbrake with Fans running at full blast most of the time while ripping (cpu gets hot lol).

EDIT: Re-read your post, and you did mention about handbrake, there is another piece of software which will average the FPS and let you know after the rip.

4. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

I think his "30 minutes" only refers to the process of copying DVD onto harddrive in the format of *.VOB. subsequent compression process normally takes much longer time, especially if H.264 is the target codec, 3~6 hours is very reasonable.

5. piltupso thread starter macrumors regular