Ripping the latest Transformers movie

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rm2092, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. rm2092 macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #1
    I am useing Handbrake to rip the movie for Apple Tv buts its been three hours so far and its not even halph way yet, something wrong ?
    Thanks...
     
  2. PixelFactory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    are you ripping the correct "title"? You should be ripping title 47.
     
  3. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #3
    Hmmm ok not sure what I did, should I stop it and redo it ?
     
  4. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #4
    Top LH side in titles says 30, I dont ever remeber haveing to choose a title in the past ?
     
  5. PixelFactory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    In the handbrake window under source should be a drop down menu labeled title. You have to manually select title 47. If your not sure if that is the one you are using, click on show queue and it will tell you what Title you are currently ripping. If you are not ripping the right title. Stop it and restart using title 47.
     
  6. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #6
    ok for next dvd rip how would I know wicth title to use ?
     
  7. PixelFactory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    This is a new form of copy protection on dvds that puts fake titles in the menu. The best way to find out which title to use is to play the dvd in OSX DVD player. While the main feature is playing activate the "Go" menu, select Title then take note which title in the drop down list has the tick mark next to it.

    Hope that helps. Not all DVDs use this method, but you can tell by checking the title selection in handbrake and there are a lot of titles with runtimes about the length of the feature.
     
  8. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #8
    Ok will it restarted and its saying over 3 hours, ill wait it out. thanks...
     
  9. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
  10. PixelFactory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago
  11. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #11
    last version MBP, I have done other movies but they just never took this long I think, ill just wait this one out.
     
  12. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #12
    Ok it the download is over but my next problem the movie looks like a digital scramble so what went wrong and is there another fix ?
     
  13. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #13
    This thread discusses this issue with the copyright protection.
    It won't rip on a MacBook or a Mac Pro, it's not your computer it's the movie. Mac The Ripper may work but AnyDVD for Windows would probably be able to crack through it. Any movie that takes 4 hours to transfer clearly has the copyright protection issue. I should be able to transfer the entire 8 GB of a movie in 20-35 minutes on my MP. When it says 4 hours I know there's an issue.
     
  14. tbayrgs macrumors 603

    tbayrgs

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #14
    I had the same problem initially with this movie. I usually use Rip It to rip the DVD (usually takes about 45 minutes on my Mac Mini (mid 2009), give or take) and then encode using Handbrake. Well, Rip It wouldn't even get started--tried on both my Mini and my Macbook (early 2008). Instead, I encoded directly off the DVD using Handbrake/VLC--took longer than a typical encode but only by an hour or so and end result was great.
     
  15. MacCoCo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Title 47 Not Working

    I have tried Title #47 when encoding Transformers 2 in Handbrake and it still does not successfully encode. I have also tried other various title no's (didn't keep track of which)....none have worked.

    Any suggestions?

    BC
     
  16. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #16
    Ok after three try's I got it, I had VLC running in the background not sure if that helped but when i selected 47 i did not get the whole movie so i selected the last chapter and it seems I got all of it.
     
  17. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #17
    ok now im watching it the chapters are not in order, I give up
     
  18. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #18
    I've copied it over about 5 times at 3 hours each time and every single time it finishes the chapters are out of order. I can't get it to work and I really want this movie because only the UK version offers the digital download. Its so frustrating.
     
  19. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #19
    I'm trying 47 right now. I searched yahoo answers and it took some people 2-3 times of burning it on 47 to get it right, so I'll just try that a couple more times. If it doesn't I'll probably give up, considering its taking so much time to rip it.

    OP I'll post back and let you know if ends up working after doing it a couple of times.
     
  20. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #20
    I tried 47 two more times and both times worked. Maybe when you tried it it just froze or something... I'd try again.
     
  21. rm2092 thread starter macrumors 6502

    rm2092

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #21
    For me I think it was 76 NOT 47 and works great, I had two different dvd's and one said the title was 47 witch would cut the download short the second video said title 76 and it worked great.
     
  22. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #22
    Interesting, but hey at least it worked
     
  23. Holty123 macrumors 6502

    Holty123

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    Crington UK
    #23
    UK Transformers 2

    Title 31 for me also when i put it through Meta X it rendered it unplayable anyway it works fine good job i saved a copy

    Also remember that in the UK at least there are two versions a 2 disc version is also available so the titles may differ

    Play the DVD in VLC or DVD player (mac) start the main film running then click on "GO" ON THE MENU BAR THE TITLE THAT THE FILM STARTS ON WILL BE TICKED! select this in your ripping program should work fine!
     

Share This Page