RJ11 or Ethernet... What should i use ?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mac., Apr 12, 2008.

  1. Mac. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi, i have decided to ditch wireless as my connection drops from time to time. I'm now going back to the wired option.

    However, i have a problem deciding whether i should buy a LONG Ethernet Cable or a LONG RJ11 Phone Cable.

    My ADSL Line is downstairs, while my iMac is in my bedroom. Which cable would be more reliable? I have made a small diagram to help explain what i mean...

    Option 1
    .
    .
    .
    .
    [​IMG]
    .
    .
    .
    .

    Option 2
    .
    .
    .
    .

    [​IMG]
    .
    .
    .
    .
    [​IMG]
     
  2. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
  3. kflook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    #3
    Definitely ethernet. That's how I have my setup with my PowerBook in my bedroom.
     
  4. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thanks for the quick replies guys! i'll go for the Cat 5 then.

    Will my Internet be any slower, as the ethernet cable will be around 30 meters long?
     
  5. kflook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    #5
    I don't think...mine isn't any noticeably slower here than it is on the shorter cord at the other end of my house.
     
  6. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Good stuff! Thanks allot.
     
  7. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #7
    No. I have a 100 foot (about 30 meters as well) ethernet cable from the router to a switch in my room and it works fine. Ethernet can go a long ways before you need things like repeaters.


    And definitely Cat 5
     
  8. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Thanks allot!
     
  9. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #9
    Before you go through all that, are you sure the problem with your WiFi isn't that you're using a 2.4ghz cordless phone or something?
     
  10. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Can anyone recommend a good Cat 5 cable?

    should i go with Belkin?

    Last week i brought my iMac downstairs and connected it up to my router via Ethernet, it never lost connection once throughout the whole day.
     
  11. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #11
    My point is that if you have a decent wireless router, you shouldn't lose connection once throughout the whole day when connected wirelessly. Certain things, most commonly 2.4ghz cordless phones, use the same frequency as WiFi networks and can cause connection problems.
     
  12. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #12
    We don't doubt that. We he was saying is that maybe a cordless phone, when used, is causing your wireless signal to drop (one of my my in-laws phones does that). Although it seems to me it's more a problem of having the wireless router to far away.

    [Edit]... and Chaszmyr beat me to it. :eek:
     
  13. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Oh right. The house phone is around 3 meters from the router, so i'm not sure if that would cause a problem (?)
     
  14. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #14
    With Ethernet you'll be able to extend to 100 meters (330 feet) from the router. The ADSL cabled distance, I'm not so sure about. In either case, make sure you do not lay the cable across any interfering lines, such as power, fluorescent lighting, any radio/TV/microwaves, all that. The brand of cable is fairly immaterial, Belden is an industry standard, and not too expensive in bulk (if you're terminating it yourself).

    As far as the wireless, it was noted above (but not thoroughly explained) about the problems. The two frequency bands that WiFi operates on are 2.4 & 5.8 GHz. The 2.4GHz is notorious for RFI with equipment in the same range (notably cordless phones), where the 5.8GHz is less susceptible, even against the 5.8GHz phones. When I switched to 5.8 for both the house phones and WiFi, all problems disappeared.

    Also, consider other interfering equipment, such as older or freestanding microwave ovens. Even if the frequency is not the same for the klystron, if it's a harmonic, you're just as hosed, particularly if the shielding isn't the best. I see this in offices with the "shared" kitchens from hell.
     
  15. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Thanks allot for your help :)

    Sorry for the double post.

    Is THIS cable what i need? the length is perfect (25m) but i'm not sure about the technical specs.

    ------------------------------------

    CAT5E PATCH LEAD - STRAIGHT

    * Enhanced 350Mhz CAT5 UTP patch lead

    * 2 x RJ45 (8P/8C) connectors with strain relief boots

    * High quality twisted pair cable. Wired pin to pin

    * Commonly used to connect PC's to Routers/Modems/Switch's

    * Supplied new in polly bag.

    * Length - 25M
     
  16. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    If you're buying ethernet cables you may want to consider Cat 6 over Cat 5e, so that if you ever need/want to upgrade to a gigabit network you already have a cable that's capable. Just a thought.

    With the wireless part of my network all I had to do was switch channels to stop it from dropping every so often though.
     
  17. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #17
    It's fine. Cat5/Cat5E UTP is about as common as lamp cord anymore, the only thing to NOT get is a crossover cable.

    Cat5 & 5e are rated to support Gigabit. Cat 6 is not really needed.
     
  18. Mac. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Thanks both of you :)
     
  19. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Even if you do buy a crossover cable most equipment now supports automatic crossover, so there's a good chance it would work fine.
     
  20. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #20
    Why not WiFi? I use it all day every day and never had any problems with microwaves, cordless phones etc.
     
  21. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #21
    Cat 5e is perfectly capable of gigabit.
     
  22. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Ah good catch, just looked it up and Cat 5e is indeed gigabit capable.
     
  23. ewilson6 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #23
    Goto Home Depot and have them cut you the cable you need.

    At 28¢ a foot your not gonna get anything better, connection is great at both ends.

    --Eric
     

Share This Page