rMB processor

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Atimix, Mar 15, 2015.

1. Atimix macrumors member

I'm a designer and run Adobe illustrator often, wanted to ask this community if I could run it on the new rMB. Also, I'm aware Skylake is around the corner, and wondered what the consensus was on waiting? I've had my current laptop for far too long and have been waiting for the rMB in the rumor mills for over a year and am looking to upgrade, but not if visibly better performance is there.

2. Thares macrumors regular

Thares

You're probably better off with the new Air or Pro. The weight difference is not that much, especially if compared to the Air.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I'd wait for the Broadwell MBPs to roll off the assembly line. The MB will be a bit sluggish for your needs. Yes you could also wait for Skylake if your needs are not pressing but waiting that long seems a bit extreme.

4. hans1972 macrumors regular

Macbook will probably be faster than your current Mac. If you have an old Mac with 4Gb RAM and a harddrive, the new Macbook will run Illustrator that much faster.

SSD and 8Gb RAM will speed up and unless Illustrator demands prolonged use of the CPU, the Macbook will probably run Illustrator fine.

You should wait for some review of the CPU performance since the new Macbook is fanless the CPU will throttle quite quickly.

5. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

I would wait on the real world reviews, if the new MacBook can run without throttling it may be worth a look, equally it wont be a powerhouse and I would be more inclined to go for a 13" MBPr if portability is a concern or the 15" MBPr for the sheer performance.

Q-6

6. crsh1976 macrumors 6502a

Graphic design software on a cramped 12-inch screen would be my biggest concern, personally; it's not fun, regardless that the screen is retina or not.

7. Hankster macrumors 68020

Hankster