rMB Wifi???

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Phightinphils, Apr 19, 2015.

  1. Phightinphils macrumors 6502

    Phightinphils

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Anyone else experiencing wifi issues? Mine seems to be sporadic and I don't believe it's the router/network given the fact that all other wireless products in the house work fine. I have 3 bars, but cannot send iMessage/use the web.
     
  2. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Sounds like something else is going on. Are you on 5ghz or 2.4? May want to try switching over. Funny I can be sitting 4 feet from the router on my iPhone and it gets 5 bars on 2.4 and only 3 bars on 5 ghz. I think it's the whole higher-frequency = lower penetration, but still, jeez, that's finicky.
     
  3. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #3
    Absolutely no trouble on 2.4 or 5 gHz here, but I don't have any trouble with any of my other Macs on 10.10. However, there are a lot of people with wifi problems on all kinds of Macs, so I am not surprised (but still disappointed) that the rMB would have the same issues. :(
     
  4. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #4
    I run a Cisco 1702 AP in the basement of my house with internal antennas. I'm able to use wifi on the second level of the house without issue. I also connect at 500-600Mbps via 802.11ac on the first level. Wifi works quite well on the Macbook.
     

Share This Page