Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pollycat

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 27, 2004
I'd be interested in hearing anyone who's moved from an 11-inch MacBook Air to a 12-inch Macbook. Do you feel it was worth it?

I have a 2013 11-inch MBA and love its portability (I travel a lot, this is a secondary machine) but am lusting after the better screen and better sound on the 12-inch rMB, also the lack of fan.

What's holding me back is the keyboard: I tried typing on one in a store recently and it didn't feel that natural or easy.

I don't mind about the lack of ports. And, as a secondary travel machine, I'm not too concerned about lack of "power", I would mostly just do the regular web, e-mail, word-processing, watching movies, etc.

Trying to decide whether to keep the 11-inch MBA and live with its crappy screen a bit longer or take the plunge with the 12-inch rMB and hopefully get used to the keyboard.

Advice from those who've made a similar decision would be welcome.

thitiv

macrumors member
Dec 3, 2011
Bangkok, Thailand
rMB12 vs. MBA 11

My journey with MacBooks started in 2011 with a 13" Air. I moved to a maxed out 15" Retina MacBook Pro in 2012 and back to maxed out Early 2014 11" Air just before New Year 2015 because the nature of my works had changed from time to time. During the first two weeks after switching to the 12" rMB, I missed the speedy Core i7 CPU of my 11" Air. But I have become overwhelmed by the retina screen and the speakers. It sounds much better than any MacBook Air / Pro I have had. The 12" rMB is slower than my 11" but I can wait. The majority of what I do now is document works anyway.

----------