rMBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Commy1, Jan 14, 2014.

1. Commy1 macrumors 6502a

Commy1

When is the next estimated Apple announcement? Does it seem probable that the MBA will get an overhaul?

Can't decided between the MBA or rMBP as I'm an art student semi into photography but don't plan on pursuing it as my medium. I just want a portable machine to replace my aging desktop that can handle some Lightroom and CS6/CSCloud.

Am I going to be disappointed in a week when Apple announces a new rMBA with freakin' lazors and guns!?
    (guns and lazors sold separate, batteries not included)

2. Steve121178, Jan 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014

Steve121178 macrumors 68040

Steve121178

Get the rMBP as it's priced extremely competitively these days. It's marginally heavier than the MBA but still lightweight in comparison to everything else. It's also more compact than the MBA which is a win in my book and I'm sure you'd appreciate the extra power & the retina display for photography.

The MBA is possibly going to get a hardware refresh this year, but no one knows for sure until they announce it. It's fair to say that they may scrap the 11" & 13" models and instead offer a single 12" model as there's a lot of rumours about the display size.

I also think that the refreshed MBA may actually be some kind of MBA/iPad Pro OS X/iOS dual boot hybrid with a detachable screen. No one actually knows for sure yet. However, if I was going to buy another 13" notebook I wouldn't look any further than the rMBP. It's perfect.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You're not going to see anything next week, Apple will update their computer line when Intel releases Broadwell, which isn't due out until 2nd or 3rd quarter of this year.

I'd personally go with the rMBP if you'll be working with images and photography and your artwork.

I also don't think we'll see a retina MBA as Apple wants to differentiate their MBA and MBP lines - just my $.02