rMBP 13" 128 or 256gb?!?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by redri, Aug 11, 2014.

1. redri macrumors newbie

I'm about to pull the trigger on a rMBP 13" but I have some questions to the folks with some experience of these computers.
    Right now i am leaning towards the entry level model but with the slightly better i5 cpu (because of really good benchmark results compared to the previous i7 cpu). It feels like the best of two worlds.

But the big question is about the SSD, is 128gb enough or is it just way to small?
    Or is there some other benefits with a bigger SSD except the bigger storage?

As of today i am doing very much web browsing, a lot of youtube (watching), some handbrake and just some ordinary computer stuff. For this purpose the 128gb should be more than enough i think.
    But i am/have been a big fan of making music (i am a former guitarist) and i am going to use some Logic Pro X.
    And with a newborn daughter i am sure there is going to be a ton of photos and some videos too. And for fun i am sure that aperture is going to be used for some photo editing and iMovie for the videos.

What do you guys/girls think, do i need more than 128gb storage OR is there any other benefits with the 256gb as to what i am doing?

Worth mentioning is that i am also going to buy a 2tb external USB 3.0 WD MyBookStudio as a central storage unit. But that storage is only available at home when the rMBP is connected to our workspace. So when we are on the go/vacation and so on i am thinking of buying a USB 3.0 64 or 128gb flash stick.

128 or 256???

2. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

jakesaunders27

Defiantly 256GB, and yes make sure you can back up your photos on your vacation.

3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

256 is the workable minimum now....I wouldn't be surprised to see Apple make 240 the entry level SSD size. 128 really isn't enough now.

4. Meister, Aug 11, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2014

Meister Suspended

Meister