rMBP 13" 8GB of RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Curtis 92, Mar 11, 2015.

1. Curtis 92 macrumors member

Everyone knows that you can't upgrade the RAM on a rMBP but do you think 8GB will be enough RAM if i was going to keep the laptop over a period of like 4/5 years? Do you think I should upgrade it to 16GB at time of purchase?

2. David58117 macrumors 65816

What are you using it for?

16 Gigs is mostly very unnecessary for most people..

This is coming from someone who has had 16 gigs on two macs, and realized what a waste of money it was. 8 gigs is more than adequate for most uses...

3. anonymous6237 macrumors 6502

anonymous6237

I've been using a Macbook Air with 4gb of ram for the past 4 years and haven't really noticed. Light to moderate Photoshop, some really light gaming even (Kerbal Space Program and the occasional WoW) all without any issues. I definitely thing 16gb of ram is overkill in most instances.

4. Raunien macrumors 6502

Unless you are doing heavy video/photo editing or running VMs, there really is not a need for 16gb.

5. capathy21 macrumors 65816

capathy21

Save your money and go with 8. The amount of users who truly NEED 16 are few and far between.

6. Curtis 92 thread starter macrumors member

But I'm talking about in 4/5 years do you think i'll need to 16GB just to give it that boost, i'll be using it for Logic Pro and other music applications

7. Raunien macrumors 6502

My other piece of advice is get what will set your mind to ease. If you get 8gb and will keep on thinking about whether you should've gotten the 16gb, then get the 16. It's not worth it for the regret to consume you.

8. Samuelsan2001, Mar 11, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2015

Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Personally I don't but

I don't think that RAM needs will change much in 4-5 years they haven't changed much in the last 4-5 years after all.

However who can say how software will go......