rMBP 13 for work... advice needed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marcociccone, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. marcociccone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I actually have a MBA 13" mid-2014. I found it quite good, except for the resolution of the display and the animations (are a bit laggy after I upgraded to Yosemite). Apart from this I found it an excellent machine but... I need more horsepower to handle my daily tasks at work.

    During the next weeks I'll move to AU for work, and I would like to switch to a rMBP 13 but I would need some advice on which configuration should I get. SSD is ok 128GB, but I don't know which CPU/RAM configuration could suit best for me.

    My average workday involve 2 browsers opened with 5-7 opened tab each, multiple excel files opened, skype, mail, calendar, html editor, an http sniffer and dropbox. I'm always connected to a 24" HD external monitor...

    I was wondering if rMBP 13" GPU can handle Yosemite with an external monitor smoothly because I noticed that my MBA sometimes stutters (e.g. when scrolling App Store or Safari).

    I wouldn't go for the 15" since I move a lot...

    Thank you for your advices.
     
  2. GameFreak348 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    #2
    I have a late 2013 retina macbook pro 2.6 Ghz, 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz, 512GB PCIe SSD.

    Under Mac OS X i play minecraft and skype. i have multiple tabs open and it only laggs if i run 2 videos on youtube in the background.

    On Windows 7 the native 2560x1600 resolution is quite laggy, put it down to 1680x1050 and its good.
    Under windows 7 i play games like Battlefield 3, Far Cry 3 and Watch Dogs

    So for work its really gonna be enough
     
  3. MacTCE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    #3
    It depends how much you want to future proof. Since you can't upgrade the memory or the SSD if you're planning on keeping the rMBP for a good while (4-6 years) you might want to upgrade the RAM to 16GB and SSD to 512GB. If you're a new machine once every 1-2 years 8GB and 256GB would be sufficient.
     
  4. marcociccone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #4
    Thanks. I'm planning to keep it for at least 4 years, so I would go for 16GB RAM for sure. I don't know about the CPU instead...

    How rMBP 13 behave in handling the max resolution + an external monitor? For me, one of the most important thing is the UX experience, I want something really smooth, this is what Apple accustomed to (don't know if this sentence is correct, sorry but I'm training my english :))
     
  5. MacTCE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    #5
    I had a Late 2013 13" rMBP and I would hook up two external HP 27" monitors at work without an issue. Everything was very smooth.
     
  6. marcociccone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #6
    Thank you. So 2014 Iris GPU should be able to run Yosemite smoothly also with an external monitor.

    Going back to the configuration, which CPU do you have? I have decided for a 128GB + ram 16GB. 128GB are enough since I make an intensive use of cloud storages (corporate servers, dropbox, icloud drive and google drive mostly).

    My only concern now is the CPU. I don't really know if there is a difference between i5 base CPU or i7 since they're both dual core.
     
  7. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #7
    The usage you described is really light.
    I have a hard time believing that your current mba can't handle them
     
  8. marcociccone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #8
    I've not detailed what I use inside those safari/chrome tabs or excel files:
    - I almost use heavy web apps, analytics and other tools - quite heavy;
    - Other website opened are genrally heavy and full of flash content;
    - With excel I crunch a lot of data (talking about multiple files with multiple sheets with 50.000+ lines, with macros, v.look up, and so on).

    believe it or not the experience inside the browser is not smooth as I expect expecially when i scroll over websites or use expose. And then there is the display, but this is apart from my usage.
     
  9. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #9
    Have you used the activity monitor and istat to analyze why it's not smooth?
    Fromm my experience what you described should run smooth.
     
  10. marcociccone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #10
    No but I'll try for sure thanks
     
  11. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #11
    You really should. You might upgrade and encounter the same problem.
    Identify where you lack performance fisrt, then decide what to do. :)
     
  12. MacTCE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    #12
    I have to agree with Meister here. I would determine where your performance issue and then decide on an upgrade. Nothing would be worse than updating your machine only to encounter the same issue.
     

Share This Page