rMBP 13 inch - i5/i7 and 8gb/16gb

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by monkeysinspace, Oct 28, 2013.

1. monkeysinspace, Oct 28, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013

monkeysinspace macrumors newbie

Like many others last week after Apple's event, I ordered a new rMBP 13 inch the same day. Waited long enough - no more, right?

I ordered the 2.8 i7/8gb/256gb version. Great, can't wait. Should be here in three days. Wait... should I have gotten 16gb ram instead? Let the contemplations begin.

I'm an engineering student. I do a fair bit of development (MATLAB, web development, sometimes VM into windows, etc.). A power user as some might put it. No video editing though, just some Photoshopping on the side. I'll be using the machine for the next 3-5 years at least, so I thought I'll take the i7. Budget constraints are only allowing me to get the i7+8gb RAM or the 2.6 i5+16gb RAM. Again, my impatience resulted in not waiting for the Anandtech review for a more indepth idea of the benchmarks. Some are saying the i7 only has about 5-7% increase in performance whereas other sources are showing more. Can't get real concrete information.

Now, should I call up apple for an exchange for the 2.6 i5/16gb/256gb? I'm not entirely sure what to do at the moment and I don't know if good ol' Anand will really have a black/white answer for me either.

Also, say I do ask Apple for an exchange - what's the process like? Custom models have to be ordered online, so is it just buying another one and returning one or do they take care of the shipping/exchange. As I haven't gotten the computer in hand yet, does the 14-day return window start at that moment or has it already started? How does it work?

Help me out?

2. mrmors macrumors member

I'm in nearly a similar position to you, I'm about to probably buy a new 13" rMBP, so I've been doing loads of reading on here before pulling the trigger.