Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Original poster
Oct 25, 2012
Hi guys,
So I was originally meant to buy the 13" MBP but found out that the Retina version was soon to come out so I thought I'd wait for it.
Come the Keynote, found out it had a small 128GB flash memory and no GPU.
Main problem is the price. It's £1,449 here in the UK. Now a lot of people are saying its way too expensive. I agree. I thought it would at least be £1,249.
Since I'm a uni student and don't have the cash at hand.. I'll be using financing and education pricing. But value for money. Which is better, 13" rMBP or 15" rMBP? Which one should I get? Or not get the Retina at all and get a regular 13" or 15" MBP?
I need advice guys!!

Thanks a million!

Maczor

macrumors regular
Oct 23, 2012
LU, Switzerland
Value for the money... the 15" rMBP is clearly better than the 13" rMBP. Since your financial situations doesn't allow to just throw money at the 13" rMBP, I suggest you try giving the 15" rMBP a shot and see how that goes. Also, you can always just get the cMBP instead if the retina won't prove to be as cool as you are expecting it to be...

BeachChair

macrumors 6502a
Apr 11, 2008
Copenhagen, Denmark
Hi guys,
So I was originally meant to buy the 13" MBP but found out that the Retina version was soon to come out so I thought I'd wait for it.
Come the Keynote, found out it had a small 128GB flash memory and no GPU.
Main problem is the price. It's £1,449 here in the UK. Now a lot of people are saying its way too expensive. I agree. I thought it would at least be £1,249.
Since I'm a uni student and don't have the cash at hand.. I'll be using financing and education pricing. But value for money. Which is better, 13" rMBP or 15" rMBP? Which one should I get? Or not get the Retina at all and get a regular 13" or 15" MBP?
I need advice guys!!

Thanks a million!