rMBP 13" SSD size question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by GoodtobetheKing, Jan 30, 2015.

1. GoodtobetheKing macrumors member

Hey there everyone,

So I have a MBP from all the way back in 2007 and me thinks it's time to trade it in. I'm a grad student now and I'm finding it fairly difficult to keep organized with everything that I currently have. So I'm thinking about buying a 13" rMBP. The problem is that I'm not sure which one to buy. I wouldn't be using the computer as a main one because I have an iMac for that. It'd be more of a computer to use on the go.

I usually work off of a external 1TB hard drive but I'm a little cautious about only having a laptop with 128GB space on it. I thought about splurging for the 256 GB rMBP but I'm not sure the extra $200 is worth it. Additionally, I have a feeling that upgrading the SSD will break the warranty on the machine.

I'm just wondering what everyone else's thoughts are? Maybe someone can give me a perspective that I haven't thought of yet. Thanks!

2. MathBunny123 macrumors regular

For just moving 128GB is more than enough. I use my MBPr for everything, and I could make it to under 256GB fine if I didn't have BOOTCAMP.

I recommend an external HDD and you'd be good to go. :)

3. troy14 macrumors 6502a

I never thought 128gb would be enough for me either, but, it works out just fine. I don't keep anything on it really and have plenty of space, only doing basic computer stuff. I wouldn't worry that much about it. If you had to have lots of files you could get a really slim external, small usb drive, or even a sd card that was made for the rmbp and sits flush

4. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

The SSDs on the retina models are not standard drives and differ from model to model and from year to year.
    There are aftermarket options for the 2012 and early 2013 but for anything newer than that you'll need to find a genuine Apple SSD from someone who also upgraded or who parted out their machine.