rMBP 15" for College

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jack584, Dec 9, 2012.

1. jack584 macrumors newbie

So I'm a senior in high school and I will be going off to college next year, and I will be needing a laptop. I have been looking at the rMBP 15" because I want something that I will be able to use for movies and some light gaming, as well as for school stuff. I would preferably want to keep the laptop for the whole 4 years that I am at school for. If I were to get one, I would be waiting for the next refresh, and would most likely max out the ram and get the best processor. Will the rMBP 15" be a good computer for college? Keep in mind I would not want to have to get a second desktop computer for movies and the games like I would if I got a MBA instead.

2. Ccrew macrumors 68020

Hard to say without knowing what your major is. Good for instance, my daughter is in Aerospace Engineering and her school has a policy that they don't support Macs in the engineering departments..

Regardless of what people say here, is what are the schools requirements.

3. Zauberer macrumors regular

I think the 15" rMBP is a great laptop for your needs (college + light gaming). I have a regular MBP and I found it portable enough to bring to classes, etc. If you are in a major that requires Windows, boot camp is fairly painless to set-up.

4. touko macrumors newbie

It really depends on your major. If the coursewares you need is available on OS X, then it's going to be a great choice. If not, you can still run the bootcamp (or buy a Windows laptop).

I'm using 15" rMBP. As a CS major, it is a godsend. I can do UNIX/POSIX programming without fuss of setting up some third-party support like in Windows. Most importantly, terminal/text editors shine perfectly with Retina display.

5. TC400 macrumors 6502a

TC400

I will be off to college in January and I'm looking to pick up a rMBP 15 inch. I think its a great laptop for you as well!

6. jack584 thread starter macrumors newbie