rMBP 15" loses battery power quickly and getting noisy

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hajime, May 16, 2013.

1. hajime macrumors 68030

Hello, I have been using my rMBP for many months without major issue. For the past two days, I noticed that the power drains quickly, it gets hotter and sometimes kicks in loudly. I have never had the noisy fan issue under Mac OS. Know any way to resoluve the issues? Could this be due to a recent thunderbolt upgrade?

2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

Your first port of call should be an SMC re-set:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

If things remain the same, check your Activity Monitor Log for anything that might be running to cause this.

Common culprits are AV software ( not required with OSX)

Little Snitch

And others.

Try the re-set and post back with your AM log. Ensure that you select "All Processes" from the AM menu bar.

3. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

It sounds like maybe you have some app running away chewing up CPU resources, causing the fans to kink on and run down the battery,

Start Activity Monitor and tell it to show all processes, then sort by CPU usage tell us what you see there.

4. hajime thread starter macrumors 68030

Thanks. Enclosed is he screenshot. The fan is kicking in. Never had this issue under Mac OS until few days ago.

Attached Files:

5. B... macrumors 68000

B...

Well, did you just recently install Outlook? It's using around 70% CPU.

6. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

It looks like for some reason Outlook is really eating up CPU cycles. Also looks like you have a Flash video or something playing in Firefox there.