rMBP 15" with iris pro or amd m370x

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DarrelUnd124, Jul 13, 2015.

1. DarrelUnd124 macrumors newbie

DarrelUnd124

Hi guys I'm currently a grade 9 student and I'm planning to buy a macbook pro 15 because I want it to be future proof as long as possible maybe 4+ years and I'm currently confused and maybe some people think maybe it is a bit overkill for student like me and I'm doing like light gaming, a bit of photo editing and doing typing for school bulletin, some music production ,and in Indonesia which is my country

The specs are: rMBP 15 :
    2.2 ghz core i7
    256GB ssd
    Iris pro 5200
    Force touch
    16 GB ram

Or

2.5 ghz core i7
    512GB ssd
    Iris pro 5200 & amd r9 m370x
    Force touch
    16 GB ram

And in my country the is no option to upgrade to 2.8 ghz i7 and 1 tb ssd
    And I'm confused ,my question is : there is any advantage by getting m370x over iris pro?

p.s: music production is I'm planning I want to do about after 2nd grade in senior high school

2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

Firstly there is no such thing as future proofing, any differences now will mean little in 5 years time, that being said the M370X will allow better gaming with more modern games for longer.

It sounds like what you do would be fine on any reasonable laptop so it really doesn't matter which spec you get. To be honest if you want it for school I'd go with the 13 inch rMBP it is much more portable and has a better battery life, this will be great for school.

3. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Sounds like either machine will fit your needs. My personal preference would be to go with the iGPU only machine.

4. iPad Retina macrumors 6502a

iPad Retina

I'd go for the one with amd r9 m370x, its very very useful, without graphics, it limited, things can get choppy at times, mines a mid 2012 and i used it for a imovie project, worked great.

5. yjchua95 macrumors 604