rMBP and Thunderbolt - speed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pwop, Oct 23, 2012.

1. pwop, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012

pwop macrumors newbie

I am thinking of getting a 15" rMBP with the Thunderbolt Display. I do a lot of photo processing. Will that combination be fast enough compared to the new iMac. I will save my photos on a Thunderbolt NAS.

I will get the best specs I can for the rMBP.

2. RealEyes macrumors regular

I have this setup and it's pretty awesome.

Get it now or find yourself waiting until sometime in december for the iMac.

3. chmodme, Oct 24, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012

chmodme macrumors member

it is likely fast enough

I have a non r 15" and have been using Thunderbolt drives for 6-7 months.

I am also a photographer/videographer.

It's worth mentioning - Thunderbolt is simply a bus. So it is no faster than the devices you hook to the bus, and how they are configured, etc.

If you are talking about processing RAW images, then speed isn't really an issue. You can use USB 3 and save money on enclosures/cables since the processing of the image happens on the main board/drive.

So it depends what you are doing.

Just storing and processing RAW images does not require much speed on the storage side. Accessing large files of images, which is not the same as processing one image, is a different use case.

I have been using a LaCie 4TB in RAID1 for my RAW images, simply for a degree of security. The drives are 7200RPM, and behave like any other 7200RPM drives I've ever used - which is what I expect. Not blazing fast, but not pokey like USB 2 (my MBP pre-dates USB 3).

For my video work I use another LaCie in RAID1 configuration - not storage, just editing.

THE fastest thing I've used is a par of SAMSUNG 830s (256) I installed for the hell of it into the LaCie RAID1 enclosures. Not enough storage, but as a way to demonstrate unrestricted SSD speed it was pretty cool.

chmodme

4. MaxPower72 macrumors 6502

MaxPower72