rMBP Battlefield 3 Settings

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Callumbear845, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. Callumbear845 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #1
    How have people been running Battlefield 3 on their rMBPs? I am running it under the developer preview of Windows 8 and I can't seem to get the settings right to get the combination of very crisp graphics and a great frame rate. In general I am running medium settings and 1920x1200. I would really like to run 2880x1800, but that may be a tad optimistic.

    Has anyone found the perfect settings?
     
  2. qpiqp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    #2
    I think the optimal gameplay experience will not come from running the game in full resolution. I would just turn it down to one of the lower ones, which will still look amazing.
     
  3. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #3
    I play all games at 1280x800 in Windows.

    The screen is so small that such low resolutions arent that obvious at all.

    Also, playing at 2880x1800 is pointless.
     
  4. qpiqp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    #4
    I generally use 1680x1050, and sometimes 1920x1080, but I can't really tell the difference. I've been playing TF2, America's Army 3, and GTA IV. Also Civ 5 but not as much.
     
  5. Sumalee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #5
    For some reason i get very low 30's fps even in low gfx in 1920x1080 in clamshell mode on Caspian Border... I use a dvi to mini display adapter. I didn't try to play on native res on my rmbp screen but the game seems to be unplayable. Please note that I use native bootcamp drivers...
     
  6. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Nobody else is going to point out that the OP is using pre-release OS as the foundation???? Try a supported OS and report back.
     
  7. xpcker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    #7
    For me i use 1680x1050 with medium high settings.

    u get 60+ fps and u can frap the hell out of anyone!
     
  8. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #8
    Someone said that this is because sometimes in clamshell mode the display won't turn off, so you're driving double displays. Not sure on this though.
     
  9. Sumalee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #9
    I will check next time I play, but I' pretty sure it is off. I will try to upgrade my drivers and see if i get something better.
     
  10. The "Dude" macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    #10
    I'd like to know if you have any success updating the Nvidia drivers. I have read the posts in this forum, but as of yet I haven't been able to get the 304.79 drivers to install properly.
     
  11. draughn101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #11
    Hey can you tell me what your set up is? Like the OP I'm using Windows 8 Preview, which I understand is probably limiting my performance a bit (I'll buy Windows 7 soon, especially after hearing Gabe Newell talk smack on 8's game performance). I haven't been able to get the modified Inf to work with the new beta drivers, so I'm still using the driver that bootcamp sets up. I'm also using the Macbook screen instead of my external monitor, which looks washed out, the game looks 1000x better on the rmbp screen using the same settings.

    Here are the settings I'm using:

    Res: 1680x1050
    Text: M
    Shadow: L
    Effects: M
    Mesh: M
    Terrain: M
    Terrain D: M
    AA Def: Off
    AA Post: Low
    Motion Blur: Off
    Anisotropic Filter: 4x
    Ambient Occlusion: SSAO

    I just played a game on Operation 925 and was getting high 30's fps average, with drops to low 30's and highs in the upper 40's. It never drops below 30 fps.
     
  12. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #12
    I remember playing BF3 on Medium on my previous MBP 15 with the 6750M 1GB at 40fps constant, but that required overclocking which I think needs to be done also.
     
  13. theAXEDhead macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #13
    How to install the drivers

    You can install the drivers, though you have to go through a couple of steps. (note this advice is for installing on Windows 8 RM, not sure if it applies to W7). Once I installed the drivers the following happened for me: (1) my windows user experience score changed from 7.1 to 7.3, (2) Batman Arkham City started working.

    To install the drivers:
    (1) down load them from here and also the .inf file.
    http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/29609-v30479-windows-8-64bit-nvidia-oem-mobile/

    (2) replace the standard inf file with the downloaded doctored inf file (search for it in the downloaded unzipped folder and replace).

    (3) BEFORE attempting to run the setup.exe to install the drivers you must disable the requirement of Windows 8 for Driver signature enforcement. To do this follow the instructions here http://laslow.net/2012/03/14/disable-driver-signature-enforcement-in-windows-8-cp/ It will requre a reboot. Once rebooted, run the driver install.

    The driver download page implies that modded inf file does not lead to any odd power changes etc, however there is no way to confirm this. So far my machine has been running rather well. Batman is totally jaw dropping on this machine (rMBP 2.6/16/512)
     

Share This Page