rMBP + bootcamp + multiple monitors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kingshaka77, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. kingshaka77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #1
    Hi there,

    i've got two thunderbolt monitors which i'd like to use with my MBP. They work great when is OS X, but i primarily use my MBP with windows and bootcamp. From what i've read (and found out), there is currently no way of getting BOTH these displays working when in windows unless Apple releases updated thunderbolt drivers. this looks like a problem that has existed for a few years, so i am not holding my breath.

    Anyways, i am thinking of purchasing a retina MBP, since it has two thunderbolt ports, i'm wondering whether that would allow me to connect and make use of both TB monitors.

    before i take the plunge, i was hoping to hear from anyone here has this setup in a similar fashion, and whether they have had any success or not:
    1. rMBP + bootcamp
    2. 2 Thunderbolt displays
    3. operating the mac in clamshell mode, so only 2 monitors need to be working.

    Hope to hear from someone soon!
     
  2. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #2
    It might not be a solution, but I sometimes have two monitors running in OS X on my MBP and have Windows 8 (and previously 7) full screen trough Parallels on one monitor. It works similar to when I used to run www.synergy-foss.org on two desktops.

    BTW, Parallels has the ability to boot up the Boot Camp partition, so to me it feels completely seamless as to when I reboot to get extra performance. Currently all my games run fine in Parallels on lower graphic settings, I have a 2011 MBP and I run games like Star Wars: The Old Republic.
     
  3. kingshaka77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #3
    hi,

    Thanks for your reply. I've heard the same that using windows on parallels does allow both screens to work. Unfortunately, I've tried several times over the years to run my bootcamp partition via parallels and vmware and have not had any success.

    Also, I do alot of development and have some hefty CPU/Graphics requirements so i have a need to run in Bootcamp. I have to admit that I havent given it a go again in about 12 months and things could have changed, but its such a headache to reinstall and reinstall my development setup, its not something I really want to do unless i absolutely have to.

    Thanks again for your reply. Anyone else out there with a setup like I want with the rMBP?
     
  4. kingshaka77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    #4
    bump, no one out there using a rMBP with bootcamp who can help?
     

Share This Page