rMBP buying advice - Bootcamp - iGpu vs dGpu

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Startseite, Feb 24, 2015.

1. Startseite macrumors newbie

Hey Folks!

First time posting here, hope it's okay to create a new Post about an old topic.I'm studying at the moment and my old MacBook Pro Retina 15" 2012 died a month ago so i am looking ahead for a new MacBook Pro 15" because until 22. March i will get an decent student discount. I know it's not the best time for buying a Mac 'cause the release of Skylake in Summer but i will need a Laptop until Summer.

At the moment I am not sure which version the better option is for me.

I'm studying a technical subject and so i will have to use Bootcamp for the purpose of lack of OS X support of old programs and some self-written Codes. Also I am using Cad, FEM-Programs and others. So i thought the model with the iGpu (Intel Iris HD) would be the better choice for me due to the better battery lifte time in Windows. For daily life i prefer OSX a lot.

Im Student and so the Laptop should stand for 3 years minimum (better 4-5 years :D ) and I am not sure if the iGpu will make it that long.
    There is no big difference between the two version ( wanna take the 500GB SSD and eventually the better cpu) if anyone knows how much difference there is in Bootcamp (with Windows 7 or 8 ) between the "iGpu only" and "iGpu+dGpu" model.

Hope u can help me! ;)

2. close2reality macrumors 6502

inb4 dGPU is an outdated artifact that is worthless.

Everyone just follows everyones lead around here, whether they are actually educated or not on the topic.

Pretty sure Socrates figured that out a long time ago.

3. Freyqq macrumors 68040

In boot camp, if you go dgpu, it is always on. No automatic switching in boot camp. So, I would highly recommend the igpu version unless the programs you need to use would require the dgpu. The dgpu makes it run hotter at idle and cuts battery life in half. However, at full stress, the dgpu version is faster.