rMBP came with preinstalled Yosemite, impossible to clean install Mavericks? Really??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gen66, Mar 31, 2015.

  1. gen66, Mar 31, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2015

    gen66 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    #1
    Created USB bootable with Mavericks but since Yosemite is the newer system I can't boot up with the USB , I get a circle with a slash and a grey screen, after reading a bit seems that it's normal because the firmwares are different or smith, but it just won't let me boot as long as using Yosemite. That's because my rMBP 2014 came with preinstalled Yosemite. So guys, please, is there any chance to downgrade to Mavericks or I'm stuck forever to Yosemite? Also the the USB is I created with the Mavericks app from the App store Also I read this one and I got extra depressed :( https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201686
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Nope. You are stuck with Yosemite. With a couple exceptions, Macs normally won't run an OS X version older than the model itself.
     
  3. gen66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    #3
    :eek::mad::mad:
     
  4. Eithanius macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #4
    Welcome to the world of Yo****tingme... I mean Yosemite... :p:p

    Why wanna downgrade...?
     
  5. gen66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    #5
    Coz if we disregard all small bugs and laggy UI on some apps (Safari) ,
    I can't even use my magic mouse without the wifi stopping, have to turn the bluetooth off before I can use it :(
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I have the same 13" 2014 machine and do not have that issue under Yosemite. If you just bought this machine and are still in the 14 day return window, I would take it back and exchange it.

    I am assuming here you have a bone stock installation and you have not installed some utility or something causing this conflict.
     
  7. gen66 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    #7
    It's a new machine, but many many other people have the exact same issues when I'm reading the forums and other sites :( I"m sure it's from the OS :( Will wait for update and see how it goes...
     
  8. adamhenry macrumors 65816

    adamhenry

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Location:
    On the Beach
    #8
    Buy a router that has 5GHz WiFi. Bluetooth won't interfere with 5GHz.
     

Share This Page