rMBP constantly running on NVIDIA

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pivoh, Aug 10, 2012.

  1. Pivoh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #1
    I noticed today that even just with safari open my rMBP always runs on the NVIDIA not on the intel chip. My energy settings are set to automatically switch, anyone else noticed this?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  3. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #3
    Have you changed something in the nvidia control panel?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Where is that?
     
  5. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #5
    There are people elsewhere in this forum who are deleting their AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext file so that they can force exclusive use of the Nvidia GPU at maximum clock frequency and have your problem. I think that's funny.

    Have you tried repairing permissions and rebooting?
     
  6. macbook123 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    #6
    Just use gfxCardStatus and switch it to the integrated GPU. You will never notice an advantage from the discrete GPU, unless, allegedly, you play computer games.
     
  7. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #7
    Or, use gfxCardStatus to tell you which app is forcing your rMBP to use the NVidia chip. Look at the "dependencies" section in the gfxCardStatus menu.
     
  8. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #8
    i'm pretty sure if you right click on a computer with an nVidia GFX you get an option with 'NVIDIA control panel on it', unless this only happens on a PC, and not a mac :eek:
     
  9. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #9
    It only happens on a PC.
     
  10. ZacT94 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
  11. Spicedham macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #11
    install gfxCardStatus then click on the application icon at the top bar. it's an 'n' if its on the nvidia card. look at what's listed under dependencies, that's the program thats keeping it on the nvidia card.
     
  12. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #12
    How do you "right click on a computer"? Do I physically put my mouse on it, or?
     
  13. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #13
    That's only for Windows with the NVidia drivers installed.
     
  14. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #14
    lol..... :D

    you just click two fingers to the bottom right of the trackpad, provided you have it enabled...

    ----------

    knew it. but wouldn't nvidia have the same drivers for mac, but just modified to work for it?
     
  15. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #15
    There is no nVidia control panel for OS X, because all of the settings are handled by the OS itself.
     
  16. Icy1007 macrumors 6502a

    Icy1007

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #16
    The drivers are written by Apple, not nVidia.
     
  17. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I very very much doubt that. But they obviously won't be the same drivers, due to not using the same driver interfaces. But, the drivers are only supplied by apple as part of OS updates, so from end users perspective this would seem to be the case.
     
  18. 725032 Guest

    725032

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #18
    oh no... more retina issues

    come on Apple sort it out
     

Share This Page