rMBP, difference between graphics?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sound Evolution, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. Sound Evolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Is there any significant difference between which graphics you use?

    The only difference I noticed in my design program is faster zooming/scrolling with the discrete graphics.

    Why isn't it possible to have the automatic switching with battery, but when the charger is connected to always have the discrete graphics? :( (or is this possible?)
     
  2. playsontheleft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #2
    There is a gigantic difference between the iGPU and the dGPU and if you're not noticing it, then the chances are that you aren't doing tasks which are intensive on the GPU.

    What you want is possible using an application called gfxCardStatus. I believe it can be done in System Preferences under the "Energy Saver" tab too, but I've not tried that since gfxCardStatus is fine for me.
     
  3. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #3
    Don't use GFXCardStatus, there have been reports in other threads of it causing graphical glitches, tearing, etc. Not recommended.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Interesting I use and love it. No issues I have seen. YMMV.
     
  5. playsontheleft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #5
    Really? I've never personally experienced that. Did you see which alternatives people are using?
     
  6. iaymnu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    #6
    I get graphical glitches when I switch to dedicated from integrated and boot up diablo3. When I start the game right before the login screen shows my whole screen goes "plaid" pattern. But during gameplay no problems @ all.
     
  7. zipur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Location:
    The great state of Texas
  8. bogatyr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #8
    You can set it to use the dGPU all the time in there, but it isn't a setting per AC/Battery like the other options are. It's global for both power settings so you would need to manually uncheck/check it when switching from AC to battery or back.
     
  9. Dyno-Mike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    Ive had issues with it aswell when typing in websites the cursor will vanish also sometimes it would cause my auto GPU switching to stop working and i am unable to force the dGPU.

    So i uninstalled it. Ive had no more tearing or odd typing glitches since.
     

Share This Page