rMBP early 2013 2.7ghz lag?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Elektrikz, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Elektrikz macrumors member

Hey guys,

I am new here and hoping for a bit of advice.

I am totally new to Mac and decided to buy the retina MacBook Pro 15 inch 2.7ghz with 16gb of Ram on Friday and I love it!

However I do have a small problem!

I have noticed the laptop lags when I am copying largish files, here is an example... I play football manage and downloaded all the face packs which required me to copy say 3000 images a a time totalling close to 150mb... What I have noticed is the loading bar will stop and move up every minute or so and I see a multi colour loading circle allot? The loading bar does not move as normal if you get me?

I was thinking that for a £2000 machine surely it should be able to handle copying large amounts of images to folders like a breeze?

I also have a 512gb SSD in case that is of any help?

Oh and one more thing whilst I'm here, I installed Rollercoaster tycoon 3 which is a good few years old and the game lags badly when the graphics are on high quality? Also I can no longer play the game as when I load it up the main menu is half missing etc!

Thanks so much for any help and sorry to bore you lol!

2. Elektrikz thread starter macrumors member

3. johnnnw macrumors 65816

johnnnw

This actually is rather odd. Copying images shouldn't take much at all, especially only 150mb on an SSD. I'm trying to think what could cause this to be slow but I can't come up with much right now. Where are you copying the files from? I'm a little confused on that. SSD to SSD, like just moving them? Or the downloading from the internet is whats being slow?

As for Roller Coaster Tycoon, considering you have the 15 which has dedicated graphics, it definitely shouldn't be lagging much at all. People play much newer games than that without much problem. Do you have all the updates for the game/is it meant to played on a Mac?