rMBP+FCPX+1080p - Anyone?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Burk11, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. Burk11 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #1
  2. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #2
    No one else is using a rMBP to edit HD video?

    At this point it looks like the stock rMBP cannot edit 1080p footage (in FCP X). Someone please chime in and tell me their experience has been different and that mine is faulty :(
     
  3. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #3
    As you can tell from these forums, the only people who have the RMBP are college students who need it to play diablo 3.
     
  4. striker33 macrumors 65816

    striker33

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #4
    Nah, they tried to play Diablo 3, failed to turn AA off (pointless at such a high res), and proceeded to cry about poor performance.
     
  5. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #5
    Beuller?

    No one editing HD with FCP X on a rMBP yet? :confused:
     
  6. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #6
    Well a cracked copy was leaked today finally so maybe tomorrow you will start seeing some results lol
     
  7. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #7
    There's been a cracked copy for a loooong time. So I've heard...
     
  8. blueicedj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #8
    I plan on getting fcpx at some point (thinking of putting that $100 gift card from the rmbp to use). If I do come up with the extra $200 for fcpx I'll let you know.
     
  9. importraverxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #9
    Are u on 10.0.5? I edited a video last week shot on my 5d2 and i didnt notice the issues you stated. I did the usual convert to 422 with mpeg streamclip then bring that 422 in FCPX..
     
  10. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #10
    Well that sounds like a good sign! Thanks for chiming again.

    Does going through mpeg stream clip still have an advantage over just optimizing when you ingest in FCP X, or is it just a part of your work flow from FCP 7?

    I am using 10.0.5. I'm assuming your 5d footage was 1080p?
     
  11. importraverxx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #11
    Ya, the footage is 1080p@24.. And ya i just got used to the workflow with streamclip back in fcp7,personally it seems faster to me.

    But Let me try to do it your way when i get home to see if i can repliate that drop frame problem..
     
  12. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
  13. Burk11 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    #13
    Any luck?
     

Share This Page