rMBP (Haswell) or MBA? College Senior

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by KUguardgrl13, Sep 7, 2013.

1. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13

So I'm a college senior studying history and will be spending this spring semester writing my thesis. I've had my 2009 MBP (the one in my signature) since I was a freshman. It's starting to show its age though, and I will need a very reliable machine (a crash would be catastrophic!). I just had a new HDD installed, and I installed Crucial RAM myself. However SSDs are out of my budget, and I don't believe it makes a lot of sense for a 4 year old machine that has other issues. I thought about getting Mavericks, but I'm not sure how it would handle on this machine.

I'm considering asking for a new Mac for Christmas and my next birthday (graduation too, hehe) from my parents. Since it's that far out I'm hoping the rMBP will get a refresh with Haswell (although I know I don't need it). Basically my uses are MS Office (notes and essays), web surfing on Chrome, iTunes, and watching videos. I do extremely light gaming like solitaire. I might rarely edit an iPhone video in iMovie. I have external storage, but I would prefer 256gb just to be safe. My original HDD was 160gb, and it seems silly to get something smaller. It will depend on if I keep my current MBP for photos and music or sell it.

So the question is whether to ask my parents to drop the extra money on an rMBP (probably the 13" 2.5 ghz i5 with a 256gb SSD) or the 13" MBA with a 256gb SSD. I still love the cMBP, but I honestly don't use my superdrive or ethernet that often. I've also had problems with hard drives and cables the last few years.