rMBP hookup to tv

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by timothytaa, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. timothytaa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #1
    Hey so I've tried hooking up my MacBook pro via hdmi to my 59 inch Samsung plasma but when I do, the tv says resolution not supported. I change the resolution down and still wont work. I've even installed the program that allows you to go to native resolutions but that still won't work. Any ideas on how to fix this?

    Might just get Sony internet player to stream to the tv but I'd rather use the hdmi...
     
  2. timothytaa, Aug 17, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012

    timothytaa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
  3. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Do you expect to get help calling others dumb? Especially after waiting only 75 minutes (this is not a paid customer service)?

    Anyway, what exact TV model do you have and what exact cable or adapter do you use to connect MacBook Pro with Retina Display with TV?


     
  5. timothytaa, Aug 17, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012

    timothytaa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #5
    Lol I meant bump...stupid auto correct on my phone.

    I use a use a Microsoft hdmi cable. PN59D8000FFXZA that is the one I believe.
     
  6. timothytaa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #6
    It just says resolution not supported and sometimes doesn't even read it at all.
     
  7. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #7
    :D LOL! Still laughing about the real life auto-correction fail! :D

    OP, VGA or DVI is always the best way for video output. HDMI is fixed on 16:9.
     
  8. iLikeTurtles! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
  9. timothytaa thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #9
    There is no DVI connection on my TV. I see people posting about hooking up to their tv in this forum. I am just wondering how they are getting that to work with the retina macbook pro.
     

Share This Page