rMBP -- now, later, never?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marksubishi, Apr 24, 2013.

1. marksubishi macrumors newbie

Sorry in advance, for yet another, and seemingly redundant, rMBP advice thread.

Mind you, i HAVE read other threads and discussions, all of which yielded mixed views and thoughts. So, I decided to take a stab at this.

Like others, I am faced with deciding on which notebook I will be upgrading to -- I have used a late 2008 Macbook (Unibody) with 4GB of ram, at 2 GHz C2D. This notebook has honestly served me incredibly well over the years.

Anyway, I'm a student in my final year of my undergrad and though basic computing functions (word processor, browsing) are sufficient in my notebook, I do play my fair share of Starcraft II. Performance wise, I can get away playing at low settings across the board, but long games with multiple units does provide the "lower graphic setting" warnings. So I'm venturing the market to find a powerful notebook that will be convenient for travelling, as my unibody macbook was, as well has provides the needs necessary to play my games optimally. Having to be able to play is an absolute must. I also use lightroom sparingly for my photos, and the entire MS Office applications.

I looked to take most people's advice and shop Craigslist and Kijiji for cheaper prices: which I have found some options, which I will outline.

1. If I were to buy a rMBP from Apple, my educational discount would provide the following price point
    = $2,597.87 -- 15" rMBP, 2.7Ghz 16GB ram 256 SSD

2. Kijiji
    = $2,200 -- 15" rMBP, 2.6Ghz 8GB ram 512 SSD (no original receipt, but sealed)
    = <$1,800 -- 15" rMBP base model (sealed [reseller] // used)
    = $2,650 -- 15" rMBP 2.7Ghz 16GB ram 512 SSD (no original receipt, but sealed)

OR, like some have suggested, wait until Haswell chips etc etc.