Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drelton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2014
Hi everybody,

Recently I've spotted 2 very juicy offers for buying a MBP. I'm looking for something that will last me +5 solid years with the least maintenance (where I am, apple technical service is very expensive and unreliable, and I'm always on a tight budget - I'm a musician). I will be using it for heavy music production and everyday stuff. The possibilities are these:

* Retina MBP (15 inch):
US 1,721.92
Quad Core ¡7, 2.3 GHz, 6 mb shared l3 cache
16gb RAM
512 gb SSD
-Conditions: 2 weeks of use (according to seller, let's assume so)
-Has a 3 years guarantee

* MBP (15 inch): US 1,477.23
Model MD103, i7 2.3 GHz (turbo boost 3.3GHz)
500gb HD
4gb RAM
Intel HD graphics 4000, NVIDIA Geforce GT 650M 512MB GDDR5.
-Condition: new (Sealed)
-Also has guarantee (still don't knok how many years, presumably 2-3)

To start with, I was just looking for 2012 non-retina MBP because I like to expand my computers, don't care much about the display, and the fact that the Retina is practically non-repairable other than by Apple technicians would make me weary about using this computer for heavy stuff, lugging it around, ect. (my present black MacBook had many problems which were a nightmare to deal with, but at least it didn't cost that much as this thing)

On the other hand, I'm reconsidering the Retina because of this particular price, and also because: I no longer care too much about the optical drive thing, it has a lot of RAM (which I hear is unlikely to fail) and I hear the SSD might be upgradeable in the future (I do tend to clutter computer space very quickly!).

Any comments or advices are certainly appreciated!

-drelton

Last edited:

mad3inch1na

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2013
Hi everybody,