rMBP or cMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by epilossi, Sep 26, 2012.

1. epilossi macrumors newbie

I'm in my first year of university and I've decided that it's time to get myself a MacBook Pro. I've pretty much already decided that I want a 15" because I used something with an 11" screen throughout high school and it was super painful. The main thing is that I can't decide whether or not I should get the Retina MBP. I really really love the thinness of the Retina version and it's my main reason for wanting to get it, but the fact that you can't easily upgrade/replace a lot of things has made me consider going for the cMBP. I'd like something that will last me 4 years, since these things are pretty expensive.

Thing is, I'm not sure if the difficulty of upgrading is really a big concern, as I'd only really be using the MBP for school stuff and light gaming... I don't really know what I would need to upgrade; I already have a desktop to do my heavy gaming and other stuff on. Although, I am pretty concerned about the fact that the rMBP's battery is glued in -- I'd like the laptop to last at least 4 years and it's cheaper to replace a battery myself.

Which one should I get? Advice would be appreciated!

2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

Not much anyone can suggest unless it's pure opinion based off of their usage or needs.

You have to decide if you would prefer the thinness of the rMBP or the expandability of the cMBP as you are contemplating.

3. blahbrah macrumors 6502

4. yauzers619 macrumors member

As an owner of a rMBP for two weeks the size is the best Feature. I've had 15" MBPs and 13" MBs and MBPs And this rMBP is the best blend of power and portability. Fast enough for Aperture, photoshop, illustrator, and After Effects.

5. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

Owner of the rmbp for a month now and it's retarded fast.

6. iEnvy macrumors 65816

iEnvy

7. Eithanius, Sep 26, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2012

Eithanius macrumors 65816