rMBP or MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mhuntoon, Nov 3, 2013.

1. mhuntoon macrumors member

Obviously, everyone's usage determines which product is best for them, but seeing I'm not an expert on the hardware, I figured I'd ask here.

I'll be using my laptop for Microsoft Office (Excel, Word, and Powerpoint), Skype, and Adobe Acrobat Pro XI. I don't use Photoshop and will do very little video/photo editing (family stuff) considering I still have an iMac for those things.

I want to get as much bang for my buck and I'm eligible for an educational discount. My questions are these based on the above:

1. Do I need to go to 8GB (16GB???) of RAM or will 4GB suit my needs with those programs running simultaneously? It seems upgrading is out of the question now.

2. Dual core or Quad core - does it really matter with what I'll be doing? I'm sure they'll both seem fast compared to my mid-2010 iMac anyhow.

3. I definitely want a 256GB SSD as a minimum. Is there any reason to think that won't be enough? It seems that I could even get by with 128GB, so I think I'm good to go with 256GB.

4. rMBP - will the retina display really make that much of a difference? The nearest Apple Store isn't convenient for me to see them hands on, so I'm wondering if the retina (although making text sharper) is really geared more for photo and video editing.

5. Portability - I'll travel with this roughly 6-8 times per year (3-7 days each time). The rest of the time, it'll be used on my desk. Therefore, the extra .5 lb for the rMBP and the extra hours of battery use with the MBA might not weigh as heavily for me as for some. Not really a question, just to give more background on how this will be used.

In the end, I guess, do I go for the full Mac-daddy MBA or a mid-range rMBP? Or, will an even base MBA suit my needs?

TIA

2. jondunford macrumors 6502

jondunford